Bulgur with sundried tomatoes

Hello everybody! Hope everyone is having a great Wednesday, the weather here in the South east isn’t that exciting there are periodical rain showers and an all day long cloudy gloominess in the air. The weather is kinda…Blahh!

But again the end of semester happiness has gotten so much into me that nothing seems to dampen it, well I just pulled out a recipe that I had made in my not so happy days which, was just a few days back. I have made this recipe with another great whole grain Bulgur. This grain is becoming increasing popular these days. Originally a Middle Eastern/ Mediterranean grain the only popular recipe all over the net, which everyone is aware of is the Chicken taboulli salad. But there is definitely more to this lovely grain, which can be excellent as a side dish (great substitute for rice, couscous), great in soup adds up great volume and here’s the best part, this is a great addition in Oatmeal. It bulks up the BRF and adds up the fiber.

I am so thankful to my mommy for cultivating a wide variety of tastes to our palates since our childhood. I mean seriously there is no veggie, grain or meat that me and my brother have ever refused! Mom always made sure that she gives us food in the most healthy and tasty way. Thanks Mom! Okay why this story, it is just to underscore that it is really important to eat and try the plethora of veggies and grains out there.

So picking up this grain I tried to make my own dish… Since I was craving something Italian….I added the necessary herbs and spices and made my taste buds and tummy happy!

Bulgur with sundried tomatoes:

img_1297

1 cup Bulgur

2 cups chicken/veggie broth

1 medium onion chopped

2 garlic cloves minced

1 cup of mixed veggies of your choice (I had Asparagus, red peppers, carrots, y squash)

6 pieces of sun dried tomatoes Sliced

⅔ Cup reduced sugar jarred tomato sauce

½ tsp Italian seasoning

Salt and pepper

2 tsp EVOO

Procedure:

  • Boil 2 cups of water then add the bulgur and let it come to a boil. Once it comes to a boil cover, simmer and cook for 7-10 minutes. Once done just fluff it with a fork and keep it aside.
  • In a skillet, add the EVOO, onion and garlic. Once the onion and garlic are fragrant and the onion is translucent, add the veggies and cook just until crisp. Add the Italian seasoning and the sauce next.
  • Once the sauce begins to bubble a bit add the Bulgur and finish it up with Salt and pepper and the star of the show Sundried tomatoes.
  • Plate it up and sprinkle some dry parsley as a garnish. Believe me its yummmmy!!!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 17, 2008, in Recipes, sides, Uncategorized, whole grains and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

