Cranberry sauce

Yesterday I kicked off my apartment cleaning spree, which I have been totally avoiding for the past one month. Seriously I had no idea my house could become such a mess.

Okay so I started off with my kitchen and decided it was the built up in the oven which required my immediate attention. I did the quick cleaning and the built up really was gross! I promise…promise never to wait so long to clean the oven. This was followed by the stoves and then I had no energy left…my dinner was all utilized….

Which brings me to my dinner story! Oh the diner was divine! I made Eggplant parmesan; it was so so so good. But I completely forgot to take a picture of it. But anyways  here’s what happened, its 6.00 pm and no sign of dinner. I knew I had an eggplant inside the refrigerator and was craving Italian, so I thought it would be a great idea to make eggplant parmesan…and since I had frozen Tilapia leftovers I had a fall back plan incase thing with the husband and eggplant don’t workout. Now just to give you a lil’ background the husband despises Eggplant in a very funny way, he will eat it if I sneak it in some dish but if he realizes that the dish has eggplant, he will find the most boring and bland food ….super spicy and hot! And then the food does not pass down his throat!

With this in my mind, I anyway went ahead and made it..It turned out perfect and just in time for dinner. Now comes the best part…husband comes in starving and says, “Hey Honey! I am really really hungry! Whats’s for dinner? I looked around and said “ummnplant parmesan”.. He was delighted and said, “Hmm Italian!’’ I think he did not hear my stealthy utterance of eggplant or else his spice taste buds would have been hyperactive even before starting the meal. At the dinner table he gobbled down the entire dish and said this was one of the best things I ever made and asked about what was in it?…I replied eggplant and he was surprised but in good way! He asked me to make it again…can you believe that!?

Okay long story short the recipe was great, but no photo…however I‘ll be remaking it this week and so the recipe will be up soon.

This evening I tried my hand at Cranberry sauce!

Cranberry sauce!

(Recipe adapted from Dani’s website)

img_1320

12 oz bag of fresh cranberries

1 cup of Orange juice

1 tbsp grated fresh ginger

1/ 2 tsp cinnamon

½ cup sweetener/brown sugar/ honey

1 tbsp orange zest

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Add the OJ + ginger+ cinnamon+ sugar to the pan.

img_13131

Let it come to a boil and then add the cranberries

img_1314

Now let the liquid come to a boil again, then add the zest and cover and cook on a simmer for about 15 minutes.

Stir in once or twice in between; the cranberries will be popping in the pot. Let the sauce reduce a lil’ bit.

After about 15 minutes the sauce will be ready! Enjoy!

img_1323

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 18, 2008, in Recipes, Sauces and Dips, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

