Pea, potato and kale soup

Hello all! I had a great morning, continued with my cleaning spree and organized my baking and utensil drawers. The husband wasn’t coming home for lunch. So after the cleaning I made a black-eyed pea and sweet potato soup. It was nice and thick and the Kale add the much added grit t it!

Pea, potato and kale soup!

img_1334

1 cup black-eyed peas

1 medium sweet potato cut into cubes

2 cups Kale cut into bite size pieces (My pieces weren’t torn well enough so it was a lil’ annoying eating them but nothing can beat its taste and texture)

1 medium onion chopped

1 clove garlic minced

1 tbsp ginger minced

½ cup canned diced tomatoes

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp red chili powder

3 cups chicken stock

Salt and pepper

1 tsp EVOO

Method:

To 1 tsp EVOO, add the onion and garlic. When nice and translucent add the sweet potato. Sprinkle some salt and pepper and 1 cup of the stock. Cover and cook until the potato is tender!

img_1325

Once the potato is cooked, add the black-eyed peas, tomatoes and mix. Follow this by adding the spices.

img_1327

Blend it with an immersion blender or a normal blender. Make sure you have some chunky pieces.

img_1328

Once the desired consistency is reached add the remaining stock. Let it come to a boil and then add the kale. Cover and simmer for about 5 minutes and the soup is ready.

Serves about 2-3

P.S. I added some turmeric powder to add soe vibrancy to the soup, it was looking a lil’ dull.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 18, 2008, in Legumes & Lentils, Soup, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

