Bulgur for Breakfast

Today is a new day and some excellent choices  made today will take me one step closer to my goal. So I got up this morning to see that I am out of Oatmeal. No problemo….I knew I had to fix this! I was just frisking through the shelves and realized that I have Bulgur. I usually have this habit of staring at my pantry and refrigerator for at least 5 minutes before fixing lunch, dinner or any snack. Seriously and this is hereditary everyone from my Mom’s side does that. We are famous for that and then when something suddenly strikes we run with the idea. So while I was busy staring at the Bulgur container, it reminded me of the time when my mommy gave it to us for breakfast. So then I ran with the thought.

I decided to keep it really simple and prepare it just like a basic oatmeal recipe. Here’s what I did,

img_1356

11/2 cup water

1 cup Bulgur

¾ cup 2% milk

Boil the water and add the bulgur. Bring it to a boil again and then simmer for about 10 minutes until its well cooked and soft. Once the water is all evaporated add the milk to completely wet it. Add the sugar. I added it after cooking coz’ my husband adds Splenda in his bowl and I add brown sugar or honey. I topped with some unsweetened ground Coconut, chopped almonds and Peanut butter. This dish is definitely a keeper.

I had my bowl with some Chai.

img_1355Off to hit the gym!

See ya later!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 24, 2008, in Breakfast, whole grains. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

