Healthy Orange chicken.

As I had mentioned in my afternoon post today, I had Chinese food at the mall and I am seriously not very proud about the decision I made. But somehow it kept my taste buds tingling for Chinese food. I mentioned previously that the Jalapeno chicken was fantastic, but the orange chicken left an impression on my taste buds. So it was time for improvisation! I researched the recipe from various sites and I am so proud of my version. Seriously guys I know it is not right to appreciate your own work but this orange chicken is to die for!

Healthy orange chicken!

( Recipe adapted from Rasa Malaysia and Kok Robin)

2 chicken breast about 4 oz each cubed into bite sized pieces

1 egg white

Salt and pepper

Mix all of the above and fry it in a skillet with Non stick cooking spray.

picture1

For the sauce:

1/4 cup freshly-squeezed orange juice
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1 Tbsp Honey
1 tbsp Oat flour- fine or
1 teaspoon corn starch
Salt and pepper

Other ingredients :

2 stalks scallions

2 cloves garlic minced

1 tbsp ginger minced

2 whole red chilies

½ cup orange pepper cubed

1 tbsp orange zest

  • Once the chicken is prepped and the sauce is ready and set aside, start with the frying.
  • Add 1 tbsp canola oil and add the ginger and garlic until nice & aromatic followed by the scallions and red chilies. Fry for just about 15 seconds and add the chicken and the zest.
  • Add the peppers and the add the sauce. The Oat flour in the sauce will act like the cornstarch and thicken the mixture. give it just about 10 seconds and its ready to eat!

picture3

img_1380

I served it with Mushroom Spaghetti (Baby Bella mushrooms with Garlic and scallions) and Green beans (sautéed in Non stick cooking spray, 1 tsp sesame oil, soy sauce and S &P)

img_1384Happy Eating!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on December 26, 2008, in Asian, Poultry., Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your sweet comments!!
    Of course you can add me to your blogroll 😀

  2. I’m trying this tonight! Sounds delicious- thank you for sharing!

  3. Hi Priyanka,
    I tried your recipe tonight and we (family of 6 kids) all enjoyed it. I substituted Xanthium Gum (sp) to the sauce and added too much…needless to say the sace turned into an orange jello. I tried again using corn starch and it worked a well. The kids love Panda Express’ equivalent, but after tonight I think they have left the dark side. Thankyou for sharing the recipe. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

