Indian Spiced Shrimps

Hello there bloggies!

What a horrible weather we had here today! Its been raining episodically and completely overcast. This is not the kind of weather you want on a weekend especially if the weekend is the last one of the 3 week long Christmas break. Ghhhhhhrrrrrr!!! Although I look forward to starting the new semester, I am a little lazy!

However I did not let the laziness come in the way of my gym today! Oh yeah yesterday was rest day, cuz of my fever, runny nose and finger cutting fiasco. So I walked for 45 minutes on the tread mill, burning about 200 calories and covering a distance of 2.54 miles. I walked for only 45 minutes, as I planned on using the elliptical or the stationary bike. I met the husband who was sweating on another tread mill; he suggested that I try the Stairmaster. I said alright and hopped right on! Okay N=now the difficult part, I programmed it for 20 minutes and realized just after 2 minutes, how much I resented accepting the husbands’ suggestion. I was ready to call it quits, as it seemed to completely drain me out, just as I felt with the elliptical trainer the other day. But I decided to pull it through. I guess this is the major thing that exercise teaches you, when I was new just a few days back I just gave up on the elliptical as I thought this is just not for me! But then today the fighter in me kindled the spark and said that you can do it! And believe me I actually did it I climbed the Stairmaster for 20 minutes. I was so proud of myself (and the husband too), leaving aside the fact that once I came down, I could barely feel the lower part of my body.

Then came lunch, I have told you previously how I am gluttonous pig after my workout. After today’s workout I fixed lunch and ate an alarming amount. Seriously I never eat that much. I ate about 5 Flat breads (called Roti in India) with Spiced Shrimps. The husband isn’t a shrimp lover so he just had 3 pieces and passed the rest to me. Here’s a picture

img_1423

This recipe is super simple and I would highly recommend it.

All you need is,

2 cups frozen shrimps

½ cup chopped onions

½ cup diced tomatoes

1 tsp ginger garlic paste (If you do not have this add minced ginger and garlic, however I would highly recommend buying it from the nearest Indian grocery store as this ingredient along with Garam masala and turmeric can make cooking Indian recipes a breeze!)

1 tsp garam masala powder

½ tsp chili powder

½ tsp turmeric

1 tsp ground cumin

Fresh cilantro for garnishing

Salt

1 tsp EVOOimg_1422

Heat the oil; add onion, ginger+garlic and cook until onion are translucent.

Then add the diced tomatoes and cook for about 3 minutes.

Add the spices and fry for another minute

Add the shrimps and cook for about 2-3 minutes or until they are done.

Serve with lots of chopped cilantro.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 3, 2009, in Indian, Seafood. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

