Love my tea!

Hello bloggies!

hoping everyone had a great day! Well I am really enjoying  the spring semester, hopefully this spirit lasts until the end of the semester. New classes, new lab and some new faces in the class. My new lab is great and my co- lab members are extremely helpful and approachable. I am treated like a baby there, as I am the youngest . Well let’s see how long the pampering lasts? It was a busy day with lots of orientation and meeting new people. I really like my OWN desk and my personal computer there! Yahoooo! I would have loved to share it with you guys but the problem is I can’t take my digicam there and not even my laptop!

Anyways on my way home I dropped by at Target and picked up the water pitcher by PUR filter systems. Our pitcher got cracked on the bottom last weekend so a filter was required urgently. From there I also picked up a new tea. Now introducing  you to my Tea fascination, being an Indian devouring tea is in my blood. But on arriving here in the US of A, I went with the flow and started enjoying my morning cup of coffee. But then slowly I started suffering from the bad effects of caffeine. Now I have drastically reduced my coffee intake and have observed that when I do sip it sometimes, I get some cramps and aches in my legs.

As a child I have always enjoyed the teas made from tea bags as opposed to the loose tea. I believe the tea bags make drinking tea very stylish. I’ll be posting the traditional Indian style of making chai tea. At first I was a bit apprehensive about the flavors in tea but then when I tried them I really liked practically all that I have tried. Here’s my collection, it is still small and  I love all of them dearly.

img_1436

For making the Indian style chai, I use the Lipton yellow label loose tea.

img_1448

And I steep these loose green tea leaves in hot water for 3 minutes and have a refreshing alternative to water that also hydrates me and keep me cleansed from within.

img_1446

For dinner tonight I made Chickpea curry. Its one dish that me and my husband absolutely love! Its simple and really easy to make!

img_1354

1 cup chick peas
1/2 huge onion or 1 medium onion coarsely diced
1/2 cup diced tomatoes

2 garlic cloves

1 ” piece ginger
1/2 tsp turmeric powder
1/4 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garam masala powder
1 tbsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp cumin seeds

Some cilantro.
Salt to taste
1 tbsp EVOO

In a food processor grind the onion, tomatoes, ginger and garlic and the spices. This step will ensure that the curry is smooth and does not have chunks of tomato and onion.

In a skillet add the EVOO and then add the ground paste. Cook this paste really well, until the oil starts separating i.e. the oil bubbles start forming around the edges. After this add the chick peas, S & P and some water about 2-3 cups and cook uncovered till the curry comes to a boil. Once it comes to boil, put it down to a simmer , cover and cook for about 8-10 minutes.

Garnish with cilantro and serve with bread or rice!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 8, 2009, in Indian, Legumes & Lentils, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

