Khichdi

Hello everybody!

Today was really cold (Shivering) and the temperature is predicted to drop further in the next two days! The high for tomorrow is 25°F and the low is 4°F. I was so wrapped up today that I looked like a bear walking around. Wonder what I’ll be like tomorrow, the only saving grace is the fact that I will not be hoping from building to building but instead sitting in my lab doing research!

These days I am really doing well eating wise for BRK I had simple chocolate Oatmeal with some chocolate syrup and coffee!

For lunch I had a Turkey SW which I could not photograph with some blueberry yogurt. These days I come back home after the 11 am class as my next class is at 2.30 in the afternoon. Today was the third of the four lectures we had on Bio informatics that got canceled without notice. I mean seriously imagine dragging oneself to school on this bitter cold day and realizing that the class is cancelled. Ridiculous!

Today was rest day, so no workout and more over I am sore all over from the strength training yesterday!

Okay so dinner today was really simple and an effective cleanser, it’s called Khichdi. It is a staple in most Indian households and cherished by all! It is a baby food and a great way to start nutritious carbs and proteins from lentils and rice for babies! This great dish is not limited to babies it is great for people who are on detox or with diarrhea. okay the examples are nasty and try to show that the recipe is really boring but NO! This is primarily to emphasize how lite it is on the stomach, so think of this great dish when you are in a mood for something really lite!

This was my dinner plate. Well the Khichdi is splattered on my plate as it was really hot and needed immediate cooling as I was really hungry! I served it alongside plain yogurt!

2/3 cup basmati rice

1/3 cup split yellow pigeon peas

2 tsp cumin seeds

½ tsp asafetida

2 tbsp Ghee (clarified butter)

½ tsp turmeric powder

Salt

Soak the rice and lentil in water for about 10 minutes

Heat the ghee and once it melts, add the cumin seeds, asafetida and then the soaked rice and lentil.

Add salt+ turmeric powder and then add about 3 cups of water.

Bring it to a boil and the simmer, cover and cook for about 40 minutes or until the rice and lentils are soft.

Garnish with some chopped cilantro.

P.S. All the ingredients above are easily available at Indian Grocery stores.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 14, 2009, in Indian, Legumes & Lentils. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

