Roasted veggie and barley soup.

Hello all! I guess today is one of those days when the entire country is under the influence of the weather. Oh man have I been in weather colder than what it was today? No! Never! I come from Mumbai, which has a hot, humid weather almost like Houston. Today was unbelievably cold! The walk from the garage to the class was grueling and lasted for ever. By the time I made it to the class, I couldn’t feel the lower half of my body. I took a long ½ hour to feel the existence of the lower half of my body!
For dinner today I made this great roasted veggie soup. It was awesome; it has veggies, whole grain and navy beans. A perfect well rounded meal. I was initially thinking of Garbanzo beans but I realized later that I ran out of them. The addition of pearl barley gave the thick soup another dimension altogether. The crunch, the sweetness and the bulk was just fantastic. I am simply in love with this soup. I topped it with some hummus and salsa. Yum. This recipe is a sure keeper.

img_1498

2 sweet potatoes cubed
3 baby red potatoes cubed
Red pepper cubed
5 cloves of garlic
1 cup broccoli
Roast all the above ingredients. Leave the garlic with the peel on! Roast for about 30 minutes.

img_1483
1 medium onion chopped
1 stalk celery chopped
1 carrot chopped

Mash the roasted garlic and add it to the skillet.

img_1487
Once the onion is cooked and the veggies are soft add the roasted veggies and ½ cup pearly barley.

img_1489
Add diced tomatoes about a cup (I pureed it), chicken stock about 3 cups and the spices

img_1490
Spices: 1 tbsp dry coriander powder, 1 tsp chili powder, 2 tsp cumin powder.

Half way through I realized that I did not choose the right vessel for cooking the soup and switched to a sauce pan.

Bring all of it to a boil and then cover and cook on a simmer for about 10 minutes.

It’s just that simple, I served it with some toasted pita and some mashed navy beans (recipe coming soon).

img_1496

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 16, 2009, in Soup, Vegetarian, whole grains. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

