Eggplant and brown rice casserole

Hey Everyone! I hope all of ya’ll are having a phenomenal Saturday! It was just an Okay day for me did some cleaning and made this fantastic casserole recipe today! I got this recipe from one of the cookbooks my aunt gifted to me on my visit to India last year! The husband loved the recipe too!

img_1500

1 cup cubed egg plant

1 cup green peppers cubed

1 cup brown rice cooked

2/3 cup Organic reduced sugar spaghetti sauce

1 tbsp ground cumin

2 tsp chili powder

1 tbsp coriander powder

OR substitute about 1 ½ tbsp of Taco seasoning instead of the spices above

1 medium onion chopped

2 cloves garlic minced

1 tbsp ginger minced

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

¼ cup 2 % mozzarella cheese

To a skillet add 1 tbsp olive oil, sauté the onion until tender and then add the eggplant and the peppers. Cook until soft but still crisp.

Add the brown rice and ½ cup frozen peas, cook for about a minute. Now add the spices or the seasoning and the spaghetti sauce.

Mix well and transfer it to a sprayed casserole dish. Top with the cheese Bake for about 15- 20 minutes. Ready to eat!

img_1499

Happy eating!

Makes about 3 servings

Per serving:

CALORIES 205
CARBS 27g
FIBER 5g
PROTEIN 7g
FAT 9g
About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 17, 2009, in Main dish, Vegetarian, whole grains. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

