Oatmeal and Flax breaded chicken.

Hey all! I can’t believe the fact that there is no school tomorrow! I mean no school…can’t believe that! Yoooohooooo!

Today I was super craving KFC kind of chicken for lunch. But really did not want to indulge into deep fried stuff as I had great Mexican food at El charro yesterday. It is our favorite Mexican joint here and their Shrimp rancheros are to die for. Okay so after yesterday’s fun meal it was time to get back to normal, so I made my own super healthy version of the breaded chicken.

Oatmeal and Flax breaded Chicken:

(Recipe adapted from Roni’s website)

img_1504Recipe for one serving

4 oz chicken breast

¼ cup golden flax meal

¼ cup ground oat flour

1 egg white

1 tbsp milk

½ tsp chili powder

½ tsp garlic powder

S & P

Non stick cooking spray

First make the egg wash in a bowl by whisking together 1 egg white and some milk about a tablespoon.

Mix ground oatmeal, flax seed meal, chili powder, garlic powder and S + P.

In a skillet sprayed with non stick spray brown the chicken on both sides and the cook in the oven for about 40 minutes depending upon the size of the chicken breast.

Here’s the nutritional info for a 4 oz serving

CALORIES 246Kcal
CARBS 14g
FIBER 6g
PROTEINS 29g
FAT 9g

Here’s the salad I made by adding the chicken into my salad, I had to go lite after the heavy meal I had yesterday.

img_1506

The salad has:

Romaine + Iceberg lettuce

cucumber

sun dried tomatoes

baby carrots

Breaded chicken

pickled jalapenos

Brocolli

low fat balsamic dressing

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 18, 2009, in Poultry., Salads. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hey girl, thanks for the welcome! that chicken looks sooo good, great idea for replacing fried stuff! have a good day 🙂

  2. what temp in the oven do you cook the chicken?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

