Veggies and lentil Dal with Raita

Today’s dinner was inspired by Kath. I was just sitting on the couch, in no mood to cook tonight for dinner and only cribbing about why the weekend got over so early. Then I read about Kath’s dinner post  and I totally got inspired to try my own mix veggie and red lentil dal.

1 cup yellow and red lentils (called Masoor and Tur Dal) just soak for about 5 minutes before cooking.

 

1 potato cut into cubes, 1 cup eggplant cut into cubes, 7-8 baby carrots cut into cubes, 1 cup baby spinach.

 

In a pressure cooker or a medium sized sauce pan add the soaked the lentils, 1 tsp turmeric powder and Salt to taste. If using a sauce pan let it come to a boil and the simmer and cover until soft and cooked!

Now comes tempering! In a pan add about 11/2 tbsp EVOO, 1 tsp cumin seeds, ½ medium onion finely chopped and 2 garlic cloves finely chopped and about 11/2 tsp garam masala powder.

 

When just about soft, add the potatoes and carrots and chili powder as per taste. Cook till soft, followed by eggplant. Once all the veggies are cooked add the cooked lentil. Add about 3 cups of water and let it come to a boil.

 

Now each ones choice of consistency for the dal varies, so boil down until desired consistency is reached. Adjust the salt and just when done add the spinach and cover. Let it wilt naturally

Serve with rice and raita

For the raita:

¾ cup yogurt

Onion+Tomato +Cucumber

Cilantro

 

Salt as per taste

Sugar just a pinch

Cilantro to garnish

Ground to cumin to garnish.

Mix the chopped veggies and yogurt with salt and sugar. Again if you likethe yogurt thick then eat it just like this or add about ¼ cup of water to give it a lil’ thinner consistency. Caution should not be watery!

 

On the side note I love Raita and I was almost done eating about half of it even before dinner and I had it with the Baked potato wedges I was planning to serve with dinner. Well the wedges did not survive to see dinner! Lol

 

Here’s my dinner: Dal+ brown rice + raita

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 25, 2009, in Indian, Legumes & Lentils, Sauces and Dips, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

