Kale Vs. Beetroot!

Oh yeah this morning my kitchen was a battleground  between  the two most unconventional opponents in the world. Yes you guessed it right! They were Kale and Beetroot. And let me tell ya, it was not a very pleasant sight to watch! Both of them fought tooth and nail to decide who would win and determine the color of the SMOOTHIE.

Well, the kale had a lower edge definitely cuz’ even when it does not have an overpowering opponent like Beet, it loses its color to berries. Now believe me I have tried really very hard to help kale. I bolstered him up with Spinach but that funny little thing does not want to shows it true colors ever. So coming back to the war this morning, Beet was in full force and it had the support of blueberries. It was gory and there was just too much of bloodshed. You know beet was bleeding profusely, but ultimately it beat kale and the smoothie immersed a beautiful Pinkish Red. Now I don’t want to write Blood red cuz’ that would be really gross!

Okay lets’ cut the drama, I decided to add some beet today to my smoothie! I am no fan of beet, I simply hate it! Eating Beet is as good as eating a piece of wood. I know that is some stron emotion there, but seriously how can one ever eat it raw and then there are people who actually make a soup out of it..uuugggghhhh!!

So you know how the beet is packed with vitamins, minerals and one of best sources of Iron. I know it is packed with great stuff, but just not my thang…But I thot may be being a lil sneaky would help in getting the ‘GOOD’ stuff in my body, and not to forget I am slightly anemic.

So here was the blend today:

0219090824

Kale

Banana

Vanilla Yogurt

Blueberries

Beetroot

Water

Flax seed meal

Here’s the beauty!

untitled1

One thing that I need to work on is to boil the beet may be so that I do not have raw beet pieces coming in my mouth. Seriously a few chunks came in my mouth and I was about to throw up, not coz’ of the taste but the raw beet! I told ya!!

In the fury of getting the chunks, I injured the beet,

0219090825

Can you see the blood!Oh yeah I have a terrible evil side!lol

Now I am off to do some labbing( work in the lab)

See ya later!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on February 19, 2009, in Beverages. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

