Pav bhaji

Good evening all!!

Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!!

This post is going to be a long one, as I’ll be sharing with you guys my dinner from yesterday! I made Pav Bhaji yesterday. I know its not a dish known to many! But if I have any Mumbai people dropping by they completely know what I am talking about. It is a favorite street food and cherished by many. It is the ultimate fast food for the Bambaiya ( Bamabaiya is a name for people from Bombay) public.The word pav bhaji literally means bread with cooked vegetable. The bread is normally a bun but I ran out of it and we were really craving Pav bhaji so we had it with some multigrain bread. San is a total fan of this dish, but he is intolerant of spicy food! So my version is a mellow version of the wildly hot recipe. Also I have made many modifications and deletions form the original recipe. The recipe can be tailored to one’s need. The original recipe calls for Potatoes, cauliflower, green beans, green pepper, carrots, peas all first boiled and the mashed. The consistency should be like baby food.

Now my version has no green beans, pepper and peas. Instead of peas I added Edamame beans to it. Also I once I added sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes, it did taste slightly different. But seriously guys you just cannot differentiate between tastes once everything is blended together. I’ll also mention places where you can cut down on the spice level depending on your taste.

Now many people use pav bhaji masala, but I don’t cuz’ the husband cannot bear the spice level. I’ll show below what I do to substitute it!

1 large potato

1 cup cauliflower

1 carrot

2/3 cup peas (I did not have it so I used edamame beans)

½ cup green beans ( did not add)

1/2 green pepper (did not add)

1 cup diced tomatoes pureed

4 large cloves of garlic

1 tbsp + 1 tsp chili powder ( this is not as much as it looks like, think about the bulk of the veggie puree u’ll be getting it. If you still feel it’s too much, go ahead and reduce it)

5-6 cloves

1 piece cinnamon

1 tbsp butter

1 medium sized onion chopped

In a skillet melt the butter, I used 50:50 blend ( butter and EVOO). Just roast the cinnamon and cloves lightly shud be nice and fragrant. Then blend this in a mini food processor with the garlic and chili powder with some water, to form a paste.

In the same skillet, add the onions, above paste, garam masala powder and cook for about 3-4 minutes. Once you start seeing the oil separation add the tomatoes.

Once the tomatoes start separating the oil too add the mashed veggies and salt and let cook for about 10 minutes on a medium low flame.

Garnish with cilantro.

img_1638

I served it with toasted multigrain bread with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and some baked cheese curls.

img_1637

It’s yummy!

I’ll present a full day recap in the night post!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on February 21, 2009, in Indian. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

