Mediterranean Orzo Salad!

I will admit I have never ever tried Orzo before but after being inspired by a few recipes I decided to give this Pasta a try! Well a pasta is a pasta, so it has to be good. But it is the background flavors that matter! This recipe is delicious. I know I am being shameless in advocating the goodness of my own recipe. But have you ever eaten something that looks pretty decent in flavors at the first glance but the moment it touches the palate the experience is something totally different.

This salad is just that! Just two ingredients and the roasting of the veggies add a blast of flavors ! So without further ado, I present my proud creation! Okay I’ll be lying if I say it is completely my creation cuz I was inspired by this and this recipe.

And I didn’t have Feta so I made this completely by substituting it with Tofu!

img_17451

(Recipe for one serving)

2 oz dry WW orzo

3 wedges of red onion

½ medium zucchini cut into half moons

5 Portobello mushroom slices

¼ cup sliced sun dried tomatoes

½ cup thinly sliced spinach

¼ cup walnuts

¼ cup crumbled tofu

EVOO 2tsp

1 garlic clove minced

1 tsp crushed red pepper

Steep the crushed garlic +red pepper in EVOO

Cook the orzo pasta

Roast the zucchini, mushroom and onion for about 20 minutes

Assemble the salad

  • Orzo
  • Sliced sun dried tomatoes
  • Roasted veggies
  • Spinach
  • Tofu
  • EVOO mix

Mix all and then season accordingly

Top with walnuts and ready to eat!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 9, 2009, in Salads, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

