A lil thinking and a recipe.

Hey there all!

The last few days have been devoted to a lot of introspection about my life, my studies where my career is headed with my current research, my lifestyle with nutrition and exercise included and of course my new baby..my blog. Well the blog has been getting a lot of my attention lately. First I was thinking of reformatting the whole blog, then make an additional blog and keep the weight loss and food element separate + add some more features to it.

But then today I must make an honest admission, I am not that great with writing. I mean I am not a very expressive person. I have many ideas, many thoughts that come naturally but the moment I start typing I get frozen and the mind stops working.

I cannot stop in underscoring the importance of my blog has in my life. I am staying put to my activities just cuz I know I have to share it online, now I know I don’t have a big audience but hey it does not hurt to purge your feelings somewhere. It really helps me. Also there are times of the days where I feel that “ Hey I can mention this on my Blog this is fun!’’ Well the point here is to remind myself how important my blog is to me and that there are down times when you feel a lil edgy and you want to start abandoning things but my blog, my new lifestyle, and studies are something that I enjoy so no compromise there. Hey it is my quest right?! To balance between all important areas of my life.

Now back to a fun recipe, from the moment Angela posted her Spelt flour homemade Tortilla, I wanted to share my version to. For me making this is like an everyday job. Call it Tortilla, flatbread or as we Indians call it Roti, it is all the same. We call it Roti and is served alongside the Lentil dal or chickpea curry or any veggie. It is a staple ingredient just like bread would be in western cuisine.

Here’s my recipe,

1 cup Whole wheat flour

½ tsp salt

¾ cup water

Mix all the above ingredients and form a dough. Add in the water such that it is not too sticky but not to dry too!

Pluck out dough balls and then roll it in a circle well almost circle to shape it like a tortilla.

img_1775

In a warm skillet heat one side for about 15 seconds until you see small bubbles developing down then flip on the other side.

img_1776

Once air bubbles develop on the other side flip again.

Now with a Kitchen towel just press it and it will swell up with air. Brown it a lil and your very much homemade tortilla is ready to serve.

img_1777

This is the bunch of Tortilla I made. Tortilla factory is open anyone interested in buying ..lol!!

img_1779

Thinking of doing some variations this weekend. Can’t wait for Friday, spring break next week…what a relief!

See y’all guys tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 12, 2009, in Indian, Recipes, Uncategorized, whole grain. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. About how many tortillas does the recipe make?

  1. Pingback: BLD Saturday! «

  2. Pingback: Tennis and eats! «

Leave a Reply

