Healthy coleslaw

Isn’t it the best when the husband showers non stop compliments on your appearance or food! Well today I received compliments for the spectacular dinner. The star of the show was Coleslaw. I’ll begin by saying that I have never been a big fan of coleslaw, but this week at Colloquium I decided to eat it since everyone was raving about it. I must admit it was really tasty! Well the story does not end there, you know I have a slight addiction to things when I eat them like this. Now I was dying to make this coleslaw at home the moment I polished it off from my plate. Due to the inavalibility of cabbage at home I was just dreaming about it all week. However today my patience finally paid off and this recipe is a killer recipe not only cuz I liked it but cuz the husband did not stop praising about it. Like me he is not a big coleslaw fan but today he grabbed the extra serving before I could reach to it! The meatless Sloppy joes adapted from the original recipe here was pretty good too and of course the ever so good baked sweet potato fries!

img_1789

2 cups coleslaw mix or finely shredded green cabbage

½ thinly sliced onion in half moons

1 stalk thinly sliced celery

1/8 cup Cilantro/parsley finely chopped

Dressing:

¼ cup Lite mayonnaise

¼ cup lite sour cream

2 tbsp Dijon mustard

Salt and pepper

2 tsp white vinegar

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp agave nectar/ sweetener of your choice

Mix all the ingredients of the dressing and the other ingredients in a separate bowl and then toss the two together.

Chill and Serve!

img_1790Yum Yum!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 14, 2009, in Salads, sides, Uncategorized, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

