Baingan bharta

img_1872

Confused by the name, well in English it can be literally translated as Mashed eggplants( Baingan is what we call it in India). Now what do you look for in dish when you eat it? Taste/ flavor right? How about three awesome things in one dish.

  • Fire roasted with a charred flavor in the background
  • Garlic infused bites
  • Spices that create a medley with the above.

I mean each bite of this dish is filled with so much in it that you will really have fun eating it and I can assure you that a person who just moderately likes Eggplant will adore your creation if you make this for them.
Traditionally this recipe is made in mustard oil and is pretty bland and boring, but my Mom just knew how to put this veggie in our mouth. The potato, mushroom and peas are her favorite Add-on veggies in this dish.

Baingan Bharta/ Fire roasted mashed Eggpant.

( Mom’s Recipe)

What you need:
1 whole Chinese Eggplant
1 Idaho potato diced into small pieces
½ cup frozen green peas
About 5 Mushrooms cut into quarters
1 medium onion finely chopped
2 garlic cloves minced
1 tbsp ginger minced
1 whole garlic slit into four slices
1.5 cups of diced tomatos
1 tsp turmeric powder
1 tsp Garam masala powder
1 tsp red chili powder
1tbsp ground coriander
EVOO
Salt and pepper

What to do:
Firstly we want to char the outer layer of the Eggplant and make it papery so that it peels off. Begin by poking holes in the body of the eggplant and dig the slices of garlic in it.

img_1854

Now you can do two things either bake in a 350 F oven for 15 minutes and the broil for about 7-8 minutes by turning around to char on all side. Second you char it directly on the gas flame and keep turning every 30 seconds. I did the second one.

Once it is charred and img_18561 just let it cool for about 10 minutes. Then slowly peel of the skin and then Mash it up with the back of the spoon.

img_1862

In a skillet with EVOO, add the onion, potato, ginger and garlic and cook until the potatoes are soft. Next add the Mushrooms and peas.

After about a minute add the mashed eggplant and then kinda mash them all together. Not too much!

img_1863

Season it up with S + P and then jazz it up with spices.

img_1864

Finally add the Diced tomatoes and let cook for about 10-12 minutes stirring in between.

img_1865

Garnish with Cilantro and yum the tasty dish is ready.

img_1866

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Indian, Uncategorized, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh, amazing!!!

  2. that is exactly how i make baigan ka bharta. check out my post herE:

    http://food-fanatic.blogspot.com/2009/01/mashed-eggplant-baigan-ka-bharta.html

    ur looks gr8

  3. Oooo lovely – I know what I’m doing with my eggplants now!

  4. Yum! We call this begun bhorta in Bangla and I’m always looking for new ways to make it. I’m putting this on my to-try list!

  1. Pingback: Melissa G, P.I. «

  2. Pingback: Baingan Bharta « Monkey Eats More Than Just Bananas

  3. Pingback: Festive eats |

  4. Pingback: Eggplant in a tomato gravy «

  5. Pingback: Accidental Vegetarian | You Don't Know Until You Tri!

Leave a Reply

