Beet chocolate chip muffin!

The husband is a low carber and tries to avoid flour as much as possible. Between the two of us, he is a more conscious eater than I am. So for him I baked this treat. It is a low carb, gluten free muffin and the secret ingredient behind them is Beet!

Oh yeah you read it right!

Chocolate- beet muffin:

img_1884

(Recipe adapted from Pinch My salt)

2 cups almond flour/ whole wheat flour.

½ cup chocolate chips

2t baking powder

1t baking soda

½ t salt

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¾ cup Sugar/ sweetener

2 eggs beaten

1 cup buttermilk ( I think this a lil too much if you are using almond flour instead just add 2/3 cup)

1t vanilla extract

1 cup beet puree

Mix the five ingredients together.

For the beet puree, boil 2 beets and then simmer them for about 30 minutes with the skin on. After boiling let them cool and then peel off the skin. Puree them in a food processor.

For the wet ingredients mix the remaning ingredients and then mix with dry ingredients.

Line a muffin tin with paper cups or spray with cookie sheet

img_1883

and let bake for about 20- 22 minutes, until the knife comes out clean.

img_1885Enjoy!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 25, 2009, in Gluten free, Low carb, Muffins, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those muffins look awesome! I haven’t had beets in forever, now I have an excute to buy them.

  2. Hi! Thanks for the sweet comments! I went to UT for undergraduate school! Good old Knoxville…I haven’t been back in a few years. I hope you’re enjoying it!

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog and trying out your delicious recipes. I’ve been wanting to try Indian food for quite sometime…I want to try a restaurant before cooking my own (just so I will know what it’s supposed to taste like)! What do you recommend I order for my first Indian meal?

    Kaneil, balanceisbest

  3. priyankalovesfood

    Yup I am totally enjoying my time here in UT. I think it would be really wise to try a restaurant first and then go ahead and make it yourself. Don’t worry though, it really isn’t as difficult as it looks.

    My favorites and something I think you should really try:

    Chicken Tikka masala
    Chana masala( Chick pea curry)
    Gulab Jamun ( Dessert)

    I think these won’t disappoint you!

  1. Pingback: I won! «

Leave a Reply

