Indian style Radish and potato!


Good afternoon Bloggies!

Yesterday was one day when I was stuck with this awful topic that features in my take home test. I mean the topic is esoteric and each and every definition is so so hard to grasp that it is easy to lose your cool. I just wanted to like run away somewhere. So I took the cue and ran ( Drive) to the gym and did 30 mins on the elliptical. I got all my aggression out there, cursing the instructor of the course for not explaining the topic properly to us. I am not the only dumb one seriously, my friends are sailing in the same boat!

Alright so I wanted to share with you guys this awesome oriental vegetable, Daikon Radish. Now I am not aware of the way the Chinese and Japanese use it in their cuisine. But I think from as much as i have read, that it is pickled. Now that sounds amazing too. I can shed some light on the way my Mom makes it.

daikonradish21

(Photo- whatscookingamerica.net)

But before that some nutritional facts

According to Wikipedia:

Daikon is very low in food energy. A 3 ounce (85 g) serving contains only 18 Calories (75 kJ) and provides 34 percent of the RDA for vitamin C. Daikon also contains the active enzyme myrosinase that aids digestion, particularly of starchy foods

Nutritional information

radish

Isn’t it cool!?!

Anyway, I got this at the Indian grocery shop last weekend. I have also seen it at the Asian farmer  market, so it shouldn’t be difficult to find. I teamed the radish with some Idaho potatoes fearing that the husband may not like the taste so he can pick the potatoes out and eat them. But I was really delighted that he loved it!

img_1928

Ingredients:

1 radish about 8″ cut into small cubes

1 large Idaho potato cut into small cubes

1/4 tsp Fenugreek seeds

1/4 tsp Asafoetida powder

( If you do not have the above 2 ingredients, don’t worry just avoid)

Spices:

1 tbsp coriander powder

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tsp garam masala powder

Mix all the spices with about 2 tbsp water and keep aside.

In a skillet add about 1 tbsp EVOO, add the radish and potato. Add salt and pepper and let cook until soft.

Once the veggies are soft, add the spice mixture. Mix and let cook for about 3 minutes

Add 1/2 cup of water and make the veggies slightly watery or don’t add any water if you want it dry!

I served it over Brown Rice!

img_1927

*********************************************************************************************************

Around the blogosphere:

Check out Allison’s All natural gift bag- giveaway!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 29, 2009, in Indian, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh wow, it looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! Totally want to try this out!

  2. How tasty and unique – I’ll have to look for it at our local markets.

  3. sounds delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

