Dill Rice!

Do you ever experience a good choice angel and a bad choice demon  standing on each shoulder and confusing the heck out of your mind. Well that was the case for me today. I mean seriously sometimes I feel so confused about what I should cook for dinner that I just keep roaming in kitchen or simply stare at an open refrigerator for minutes. This habit is hereditary, my mom does the same. Now I have dill, yogurt , onions and garlic so my mind is all set that I need to make my Dill Rice. But the question arises what type of rice should I use? Brown or white?

I mean making this dish with white rice would remind me of the old days when Mummy made this and served with Cukes and yogurt. The ultimate summer cooler. But white rice isn’t that good for ya! But the husband keeps nudging that Go ahead, lets eat white rice today!

Oh heck! Lets just make white rice today and feel comforted!

img_2062

1 cup chopped Dill

2 cups cooked rice

1 medium onion chopped

1 garlic clove

½ cup yogurt

Salt

Lots of pepper

EVOO

Lemon juice to finish!

In a pot, add the evoo, then the onions, garlic.

Cook until soft then add the rice! Saute for about 30 seconds

Then add the Dill, yogurt, S and P.

Add about 4 cups of water or chicken broth.

Cook until rice tender. White rice will be ready in no time and brown rice will take forever!

img_2061

Before serving add some lemon juice and mix. Top with some yogurt and red chili flakes!

img_2072

**********************************************************************************************************

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 9, 2009, in Uncategorized, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. OMG I LOVE dill and I never would have thought to make dill rice! Thanks for the great idea 🙂

  2. Oh wow, that looks delicious! And I know what you mean about white rice. I still eat it when I go back home! LOL

  3. That looks great! I definitely need to try the yogurt and rice combo.

  4. Mmmm…that sounds like a Persian dish my mom used to make and that now I enjoy cooking for my family when I go to visit. Ours contains lima beans as well and chicken stir-fryed in olive oil and onions on the bottom.

  5. ROFL!
    It wouldn’t be a question in my house because I only keep brown in stock. White rice doesn’t have enough staying power for me, brown rice is a little better – truely I prefer another grain though (barley would be great in this).

    But I so know what you mean. At my WW meeting last week the leader was talking about “better bads”. It was interesting to hear this term and to think about how we automatically catogrize foods as good or bad while there is all this gray area in between.

    To me your dish looks like very healthy dish, even if it does use white rice, it has a lot of other good qualities to it ;). My husband would love it – Dill + Lemon and he would be in heaven.

  6. I often have a conversation like the one you describe going on from shoulder to shoulder. I think you made the right choice. That looks quite delicious.

    I like my white rice from time to time. I love brown too. It takes all kinds of rice to keep me happy! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!!

  7. Dill rice sounds awesome 😀
    oh and i am super jealous of that mango!!

  8. Yum!! Ha, yes, I often stand around not knowing what to make or do and it can be frustrating!

  9. This looks great AND I have some leftover fresh dill I need to use up! Perfect timing.

    Although I know brown rice is better, I still love my white rice, especially basmati. If I’m making Indian/Bengali food I use white rice, or else it doesn’t seem the same. For Asian or anything else I can live with brown.

    Great blog, by the way!

  1. Pingback: Eats and how to? « The Healthy Diary

Leave a Reply

