Basic Indian Curry

I know many people think that cooking Indian food is intimidating just because of the fact that it is way too complex or plainly time consuming. But if you are reading this post by the end of it, I am sure you’ll be a pro. No kidding!

My motto has been inherited from my Mom, be simple and be classy. This simple fact is applicable is so many important areas of my life. So Indian cooking is no different, keeping it simple really helps. Now this curry recipe is largely generic but let me warn ya that there are many more variations and types which I’ll post in the near future. This curry recipe is so good that you can add anything into it and the ingredients will just blend in. The possibilities are endless, you could add, Chick peas, kidney beans, potato+ pea combo, chicken, shrimp, cod…..believe me anything. That’s the reason why I name it Basic and generic. I mean I use this basic recipe for so many modified recipes.

Now the best part you can actually freeze it. So say goodbye to the frozen curries and make your very own!

What you need.

Spices:

img_2126

1 tbsp Coriander powder

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tbsp Garam masala powder

Other ingredients:

1 cup diced tomatoes

1 medium onion choppped

1 cube garlic/ 2 cloves fresh garlic

1 tsp freshly grated ginger

img_2130

Method:

To a pot add 1 tbsp EVOO, then the onion+ garlic+ ginger. Let ccok for about 2 minutes.

Then add the spices, adding the spices at this stage lets the spices enter the soul of the curry. Roast the whole mixture for about 2 minutes.

img_2135

Add the tomatoes and cook for about a minutes.

img_2136

Then tranfer all the contents to a blender and 1 cup of water.

img_2139

I used an Immersion blender.

Blend until kinda creamy and smoothy.

img_2142

you’ll get about 3 servings, each worth 3/4 cup. I guess this serving is pretty good for one person. transfer it to a Ziplpc bag and freeze.

img_2140

So next time that Indian food craving kicks in just get one pack out and add your favorite veggie or meat to it.

Okay now moving on, transfer the content you want to eat immediately to a pot and then season. Also add some cumin powder. I made a chick pea curry so  added the chick pea curry at this stage.

img_2143

Let the whole pot come to a boil and then simmer for about 8 minutes.

Serve.

**********************************************************************************************************

I ate it topped over some Oven baked samosa…YUM!

img_2145

Some random things about other curries:

  • The famous mutter paneer can be made with same Curry base, by just adding some milk, followed by Peas and Paneer ( Whole milk Tofu). If you do not have Paneer, add tofu. Belive me it tastes equally good. Oh yeah about a 1/4 tsp sugar too.
  • Other variations of curry include green curries, coconut based curries among others.

Happy cooking!

**********************************************************************************************************

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 15, 2009, in Indian, Indian cooking 101, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh, thanks so much for sharing! I totally want to try this!

  2. How awesome – I had no idea how to make curry but you make it look so easy. I will need to try this!

  3. oh my goodness, i am so glad to have you as a blog-world friend because this recipe is amazing!!!! I can’t wait to try it because i crave indian food but i just dont have the know-how to make it!!

    Thanks!!

  4. Great recipe. I usually use my curry powder in chicken salad but I like this idea. Thanks!

  5. Thank you so much for the recipe! I’ve never tried Curry but I’ve always wanted to.

  6. What a good idea! I can only imagine the lovely spicy smell in your kitchen!

    “Be simple and be classy” is always a great motto! Your mom is a smart lady

  7. What a good idea! I can only imagine the lovely spicy smell in your kitchen!

    “Be simple and be classy” is always a great motto! Your mom is a smart lady!

  8. We just had friends from India come visit us last week. They made us some wonderful curry. I didn’t get the recipe but yours seems to match what I remember them using. I want to try making it myself.

  9. I hope my preparetion will also come up as good as yours. I will attempt this indian food recipe during holidays. I am confused if the frying is supposed to be on high flame or low flame ?

  1. Pingback: Mutter Paneer (Peas and cottage cheese in a creamy curry) «

  2. Pingback: husband in the kitchen! «

  3. Pingback: Indian food fiesta! « The Healthy Diary

  4. Pingback: June Challenge and Kofta curry «

Leave a Reply

