Tempeh Fries

Heard of potato fries, sweet potato fries, zucchini fries, butternut squash fries etc. but have you heard of Tempeh fries..No..well now you have and believe me they taste fantastic. I am always a bit hesitant with Tempeh, but this recipe actually has me hooked to it. Seriously the texture is perfect and the fries were so crisp. I am in love with this recipe and will be making it soon. I used just half of a tempeh block which gave me about 5 thick fries. You can play with the size of the fries!

Tempeh cut into fry shape pieces

1 cup wheat bran crushed

1 tbsp EVOO

Red chili powder

1 cube poultry seasoning or vegetarian seasoning

Pepper

In a small bowl mix the oil+ spices and seasoning. Coat the cut tempeh on all sides with the mixture and then roll it in the crushed bran. I think rolling the tempeh in the Ziploc bag will coat them perfectly.

Just bake them at 350 F for about 25 minutes. Yummy!

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************

So now since we started with dinner first let me take you backwards,

Dinner was Tempeh fries with some shriveled oven baked Asparagus and some ketchup

Chai tea,

And some apple with the chocolate peanut butter.

Snack 2: An Austrian dark Chocolate my friend got for me on her trip to Europe. It was so good

Lunch was a wrap with Spinach+ sprouts+ veggie slices+ peppers sauted in some EVOO with chili powder and some carrots on the side

some Vanilla caramel truffle tea!

In between class Snack 1: Chocolate brownie Z bar.

Breakfast: Granola with reduced fat milk and some Hazelnut decaf coffee on my way to class.

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Have a great night everyone!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 20, 2009, in Tempeh, Uncategorized, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Tempeh fries sound AMAZING! I definitely need to try them!

  2. Tempeh fries? What an awesome idea!!!

  3. Tempeh fries… those look awesome. Although, I’m such a fan of shriveled oven roasted asparagus that those are the thing that really caught my eye. YUM!

  4. I’ve been a little hesitant to try tempeh BUT I think I could do tempeh fries!! Those sound fantastic!

  5. those tempeh fries look awesome! I have some tempeh that I’ve been looking for a use for too. 😀

  6. Mmm.. I adore asparagus! Sooo good! The tempeh fries look delicious too! I have never tried tempeh before, maybe I will be a little risky and give it a whirl 🙂

  7. holy cow that looks freaking awesome! I’ve always been wary of vegetarian products like tempeh, but I’ll gobble these up in a second!

  8. angiesappetite

    Great suggestion! I have some tempeh in the fridge, but wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. Thanks for the idea!

  9. I’ve never tried tempeh but the idea of making it into a fry makes it much more bearable! They actually look pretty good!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  1. Pingback: Senstional so far! «

Leave a Reply

