Veggie Kebabs

Kebabs are primarily South east Asian and Middle eastern recipes but everyone now makes them by giving it their own touch and twist. There are simply so many flavors and combinations that can be worked out for kebabs that the possibilities are endless. Come summer and this is the perfect dish for a Grill party! I had to make it indoors though due to the downpour! I made chicken and veggie Kebabs. I did not picture the chicken ones but there are some instructions for making them. The chicken K were for the husband and I ate the veggie ones..

Ingredients:

Veggies:


Onion cut into thick wedges

Green, yellow, red and orange peppers cubed

Zucchini cut into thick half moons

Button mushrooms, small ones left whole and the larger ones into half.

Chicken: 4 oz cut into cubes

Marinade:


½ cup yogurt

2 cloves garlic

2 tbsp ginger

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp ground cumin

½ tbsp Garam masala powder

1 tbsp Lemon juice

Marinade the chicken in the yogurt mix for about 20 minutes.

Skewer the veggies on a metal skewer or wooden sticks. Once all lined up, brush the marinade on the veggies and then grill them for about 5 minutes each side.

For the chicken ones line them in a similar way and then cook on each side for 7-8 minutes.

Modification:

No picture for the chicken one, I forgot about it.

You can remove the yogurt and a bit more lemon. Do not forget to marinade the veggies in the mix for about 20 minutes too. With the yogurt as the base the marinade tends to stick.

Onto my daily eats:

Breakfast,

Chocolate oats with strawberry

Lunch:

Black bean brown rice with salad topped with hummus

Snack 1:

Banana and strawberry

Snack 2: naval orange

Dinner was Kebabs with left over rice!

I am going to work on the presentation for a while and then sleep!

 

 

 

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Ooh, I haven’t made kabobs in so long…time to fire up the Foreman!

  2. Oh wow, those kebabs look amazing!!!! yummm!!!

  3. Mmmm….shish kabobs! Reminds me of my Iranian food. Does it really cook on a Foreman>!

    • The veggie and chicken kebabs that I made cooked pretty well on the grill. Wow you must have tasted some of the best kebabs, I am sure!

  4. Kabobs are one of my favorite summer foods! That marinade sounds fantastic!!

  5. I would love to do kebabs like this! We don’t have an outdoor grill but a George Foreman is a great idea. Such a lovely summer meal 🙂

  6. angiesappetite

    Love the kebabs!! And, I know what you mean about the rain…it seems like it isn’t stopping! At least it is good for our plants!

  7. That black bean brown rice looks great, what’s all in it?

Leave a Reply

