Good for you truffles

IMG_2319

Long back I had seen this recipe on Dani’s website and I knew I had to try them. Now that there are no classes, I have time on my hands hence I decided to give it a try.

The recipe is exactly as Dani used and let me tell you this is just fantastic. The best part they are good for you!

Prunes– Source of Antioxidants (especially beta carotene) and Potassium for the heart. Also low glycemic.

Dates– Perfect for a energy boost while also providing the added nutrients and minerals

Cocoa– Antioxidants, we all know about this one!

Seriously guys, I am not that great at cooking up sweet stuff, infact i am bad at replicating too. So if this comes out well in my kitchen, I have no doubts about anyone having any issues with it.

IMG_2320

My recipe:

8 prunes

8 Dates

3 tbsp Almond butter

2 tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa powder

2 tbsp Agave Nectar

1/4 cup Unsweetened Coconut

Chop the dates and prunes in the food processor. Once chopped add the Almond butter, cocoa, agave and mix.

Mix in the coconut to the date mixture with your hands in a bowl. Then form 1 tsp worth round balls.

Then can be just eaten like that or coated with Coconut flakes/ unsweetened cocoa powder/ almond meal

Do you have any ideas, in what other coatings they can be rolled in?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 11, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love the idea of healthy truffles! They look and sound so good!

  2. angiesappetite

    Oh my gosh, Priyanka. Those look so good. Thank you for sharing and thanks to Dani too!

  3. Those look delicious! I would probably roll them in almonds/walnut pieces too 🙂

  4. Those look SO good, wow!

  5. Oh wow, those look amazing! I would try almonds for sure! I love almonds!

  6. Yummy! They look just like chocolate truffles. So pretty!!

  7. Holy cow those sound great!!

  8. I have all those ingredients!

    I totally have to make these.

  9. OMG-I have to try this now!! It looks (and sounds) heavenly!
    I’m going over now to check the original recipe 🙂
    Can’t think of anything better than coconut-maybe roasted nut slivers(almond,pista)or even crushed cornflakes?

  10. These look great!! I am bookmarking these to try sometime soon…thanks for sharing your recipe!

  11. Oooh, these look great! Raw truffles!

    The only other coatings I can think of have already been mentioned, like crushed nuts. Crushed Fiber One maybe? Although with the prunes already in there that might be overkill . . . 😀

  12. healthy truffles…a dream come true…

Leave a Reply

