Baby steps

Goof up:

Firstly let me begin by saying that in last nights post I proclaimed my love for the wrong sport. It is basket ball and not base ball! This is what happens when you are sport newbie! Other than this sport I have watched Cricket and Soccer ( Foot ball for the rest of the world) ardently. Okay enough of sports talk.

Fitness:

I have been battling a lot of issues with exercise lately, too much thinking and no activity has been my probem. For me I deal with the “ALL or NONE” problem. When I think of exercise , I want to be a runner right away. I don’t think logically and when my body cannot accept this MASSIVE change, I just talk myself out that “Oh, exercise is not my thang!”. I want to be a pro at Yoga, Pilates, shredding and running without realizing that everything we do needs a lot of planning and slow and easy steps. So without confusing you any further, let me give you my present thought process in a nutshell

  • I WILL TAKE BABY STEPS!
  • I WILL NOT DO SOMETHING JUST BECAUSE EVERYONE IS DOING ( Even they began with baby steps)
  • I WILL STICK TO ONE CHANGE FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AND GET ADJUSTED TO IT BEFORE IMPLEMENTING ANOTHER ONE!

Well I guess this should help, because I have been doing 20 minutes fo yoga everyday for 7 days now and now my body demands the stretching each morning. I give my body this treat even if I know I have a long day ahead. I did this for the past three days when I have been super busy and at the end of the day I was more content with myself!

I plan to stick to this routine for another 7 days before I introduce any other change in this process. I will be updating my workout details in the side bar.

Onto my eats: I have not been very hungry today, but here’s what I had!

BRF:

Green Monster: Spinach + 1 banana+ flax seeds + almond milk

IMG_2473

Lunch:

Veggie dogs stir fried with onion + red peppers on a WW tortilla with some mustard!

IMG_2452

In between I ate some Kashi crackers with some nut butter.

IMG_2476

Dinner:

Rotisserie chicken + corn on cob + salad +Β  brown rice

IMG_2478

After dinner:

I am enjoying some Cold Coffee right now, this is super yummy!

IMG_2472

Have a great night !!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 23, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I struggle with the “all or nothing” mentality a lot, too, and it’s dangerous! I fully support your baby steps!

  2. Baby steps are the way to go!

  3. angiesappetite

    Yum! Priyanka – that coffee looks awesome!

    I think you’re right about baby steps! For years, I have tried to be a runner…I’ve even run a half-marathon and a 17 mile trail run….but, I never really liked it…So, I finally realized that I do like walking with intervals of jogging/sprinting thrown in…so that is what I do mostly outside. I think sometimes when we try to change too much at once, we end up discouraged, and we quit.

    Good luck. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  4. Basketball is 10x better than baseball – I can’t stand watching baseball! Hockey though has taken the top spot in my sports watching ratings!

    I’m an All or Nothing girl too so I know where you’re coming from! It is all about baby steps and unfortunately my mind can’t wrap around that idea – good luck to you, you can do it!!

  5. Ah, I like basketball much more than baseball, definitely! I still don’t love it, but it’s much more interesting πŸ™‚

    That’s a good approach to a fitness plan. It’s true, I sometimes struggle with that “all-or-nothing” mentality. You just have to keep repeating that every little bit counts. Once you keep taking all those baby steps, the strength of the “all or nothing” mental block starts to weaken, and it gets easier. Keep at it, and remember that everyone has to start somewhere! You can do it πŸ™‚

  6. Ha ~ Love the sports mix up – it’s easy to do!

    I absolutely agree with your baby steps approach. You start small and slowly build your way up. It is so important to do it for YOU and for nobody else.

    Good luck, enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  7. I’m not very sporty either! In fact, I went to a Nat’s game last night and mixed up the terms “pinch hitter” and “switch hitter.” Yes, my friends did tease me!! πŸ™‚ I have found that I like live games, but I don’t like watching games on television. Although, there are some good commercials sometimes!

    I love that you said that after stretching in the mornings you felt more content at the end of the day. That’s what it’s all about. Your plan is a great one!

  8. I have found the best way to stick to a plan is write it out! I do a calendar for my workouts every month and stick it right on my fridge. I would definitely slack off without it. When I mark off an excercise as “done” I feel so accomplished πŸ™‚

  9. That veggie wrap looks great, and your coffee looks similar to my coffee with almond milk concoctions. I love them! Good luck with the exercise thing, it sounds like you’ve got some things figured out. It’s easy to psych yourself out when it comes to exercise, I’ve been there, done that.

  10. yay you! you do what is best for you. baby steps, but like the tortoise, you’ll overleap the others in the future!
    cold coffee! I want some! how did you make it? it looks sort of milky! lke a latte?

  11. Sophia~ I blended 1 cup milk+ 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa+ 2 tsp instant coffee + 1/8 cup agave. It was yum!

  12. Baby steps are good! πŸ˜‰ Celebrate your accomplishments – your dedication to yoga is awesome!

    Your coffee looks yummy!

  13. nice blog it is……….my first time here………
    i lost 10 kgs in the last 7 months following a healthy balanced diet……
    i have my reservations about the green monster though……
    check out my blog for my healthy concoctions…….

Leave a Reply

