There’s no place like home!

It is so good to be back home, back to the husband, back to home cooked food and back to the blogging world!!

Firstly, I must apologize for the abrupt pause in posting but I am glad that the husband posted for me. I mean seriously I have never been away from internet for that long. I thought that there would be accessible wi-fi at least at the convention center but man it wasn’t free there too! Tried to send some important emails from my Ipod but the internet was S—L—O—W.

Okay enough of that! This week was full of exciting events, exposure to a wealth of information, meeting some really respectable people on the frontier of research in this field and of course not to forget EATING! For the past whole week I ate no snacks and had just three big meals a day. And the big news I went to the gym everyday!! YES everyday! I am so glad I did because I feel much more confident about running now! I must also add that I am definitely not running like really fast or anything but I can run for like 5 minutes straight at 4.8 mph. I am so although my ankles and knees really hurt!!

Onto Philly, I did not get to see the city much! In fact we would be at the conference like until 7 pm followed by meeting vendors making research equipments and after that everyone would indulge into way too much booze to even venture out anywhere. But there was this one place right across the convention center called the Reading Terminal and it had some of the yummiest food and also freah veggies and farmers market products. I bought these amazing things from there:

IMG_2592

Pumpkin butter

Cashew butter ( This is so so good)

Pickled mushrooms in chili garlic

I would seriously roam around this place almost everyday while I thought about what should I try for lunch today!!

All and all, I liked the busy life in Philadelphia, it reminded me a lot of Mumbai.But after living in Knoxville for 3 years I just love the calm and cool life here! The worst thing about Philly the rude drivers and the abrupt honking which could scare the hell out of me!

But I still liked it, it was a different experience!

I won’t bug you with the details of each day but here are some highlights:

Chicken kebab platter from a Middle Eastern place:

IMG_2590

Chicken kebabs

Hummus

Taboulli salad

rice

sauteed peppers

Shrimp in hot schezuan style sauce with white rice

0602091902

with some Chinese tea

0602091849

Vegetarian Bolognese with WW penne: This was really good!

IMG_2594

Italian WW Euro sub with fresh mozzarella, eggplant and basil!! On the side some Balsamic Mushrooms

IMG_2589

Fish Tacos at McCormick and Schmicks. It is so sad that we have no location here in TN, I simple loved it and we went there during the happy hours, so everyone enjoyed a lot of food and booze!! Not me!! I just stuck to my fish tacos and water! The fish was seasoned so well!

0601091810

And my breakfast everyday was complimentary. We were on this coolest level in the hotel, on the CONCIERGE level.  Everyone was so jealous cuz for the entire week everyone else survived on donuts and bagels and my room mate and I ate form one of the best breakfast spread!

My breakfast was standard everyday:

Low fat yogurt with low fat granola and fresh fruits

0602090847

with some English Breakfast tea

0601090836a

I guess this sums up the yummy eats I enjoyed on the trip and I am so glad that my jeans don’t feel tight after the trip beacuse I have been so active all throughout the week!

See you tonight for my daily post!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 6, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Glad you’re back!! Looks like you enjoyed a lot of yummy things 🙂 Those garlic mushrooms sound amazing!

  2. I’m so glad you’re back. It sounds like you’re doing great! Yummy eats, too 😀 Have a lovely night!

  3. Oh my gosh those jarred mushrooms look SO GOOD! Mushrooms are like my favorite food! 🙂
    I’m out of town on business right now. I can’t wait to get back home. You’re lucky!!!
    -A

  4. The Novice Berker

    Welcome home!! You did such a great job eating healthy on your trip. I really wish I were as good as you at that. 😛

  5. glad you’re back, hip hip hoorah!
    and gosh, you’ve been quite the happy camper, haven’t you, with all those lovely foods! yuuuum~

  6. Welcome back! Look at all that amazing food you had….LOVE the farmer’s market stuff and cashew butter is soooo addicting!

  7. All that food looks so good! I bet that pumpkin butter is great 🙂 I wish we had that stuff around me.

  8. YAY you’re back! 🙂 I’m glad you had a good time. Great job on the running – you are doing fantastic.

Leave a Reply

