One beginning, two endings!

Yeah last night for dinner I started out with one soup recipe and managed to make an alternate ending Both the soups were fantastic, one of them was a creamy coconut Caribbean soup and the other Quinoa and veggie soup.

IMG_2608

Ingredients:

1 large onion chopped

2 garlic cloves chopped

Deseeded jalapenos

2 stalks of celery

1 Red and green bell pepper each

1/2 cup peas and carrots

16 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 can Black beans

6 cups of veggie broth/ water

Salt and pepper

Chili powder

Cumin powder

EVOO

In a pan add the EVOO, onion, garlic, deseeded jalapenos and cook until soft.

Next add the celery and peppers and cook until soft.

Next goes in the diced tomato and the spices. After about 3 minutes add the black beans.

Now with an immersion blender or a regular blender blend up about 1/2 the soup. Ladle it back to the pot.

Now divide it into 2 pots.

Creamy Caribbean soup:

To the pot add 3 cups of water/broth. Once it comes to a boil add about 1/4 cup of coconut milk.I used full fat since I did not have the reduced fat one

Check seasoning again and serve!

Quinoa and veggie soup:

Cook quinoa separately. I added about 1/2 cup to the other pot with the broth/ water.

Get it to a boil and serve.

YUM!

Now moving on to today’s eats!

Breakfast:

Regular green monster in a beer mug ;~) Actually this beer mug was one of the complimentary gifts at the conference and is pretty cool it flashes light on the bottom. The light by the way is pretty blinding!

IMG_2614

IMG_2616

IMG_2617

This morning after my GM I managed to sneak in 20 minutes of Yoga for weight loss from Yoga download.com.

Mid morning snack:

A chewy Quaker bar

IMG_2618

Lunch:

Firstly I must make a confession, I am 26 and I still love kid stuff like lunch boxes and dolls etc etc! My mom always sends me stuff that she finds for me which is in Purple. I told you I suffer from purple mania!

This my latest lunch box my Mommy sent me :~)

IMG_2619

I ate some leftover soup, oikos blueberry greek yogurt ( It was on buy one get one free deal)

IMG_2620

Greek yogurt fills my stomach to the brim!

I am having a busy day at work today but I think I should be done with most of it by 3.30 pm!!

See you guys tonight!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 8, 2009, in beans, Gluten free, Soup, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian, whole grains. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Those soups look awesome! I love your lunch box, it’s so cute.

  2. Both of those soups look delicious! Yum.

    Haha that mug is so cool! I love the flashing colors on the bottom. Cute lunch box, too!

    Have a lovely day 🙂

  3. Both recipes looks great! I’m a big fan of transforming the same set of ingredients into different dishes. It really gets the culinary creativity going!

  4. Fiber, Omega-3, dark chocolate granola bars?? I’ve never seen those before! I bet they are delicious. The soups looks great too. For some reason I can’t crave soup in the summer, so many people I talk to really like it in the summer, but I dunno…I’ll stick to my hot coffee (which is just as wierd, since it’s hot and all)

  5. Wow – your soups look and sound amazing.

    LOVE the new lunch box – so cute!

    Can’t wait to see you sporting your new t-shirt 🙂

  6. LOVE the beer mug! Thanks for the recipes 🙂 They sound delicious!

    Your new lunch box is perfect!! Just the right size!

  7. Love the soup and that sweet sweet lunch kit!

  8. Great soup ideas!

    I love lunch boxes. I’m sure it’s because my parents would never let me get them as a kid.

Leave a Reply

