Mutter Paneer (Peas and cottage cheese in a creamy curry)

My day today has been pretty productive and I have more than made up for the slackness that I have been experiencing for the past few days.

Whats I did:

Organized my closet.

compartmentalized my clothes

shredded lots of mail.

took care of my plants ( I’ll show you guys the pics soon.)

caught up with the blogging world!!

The dinner tonight and last night should be proof enough to show you how much I am obsessed with my new grill!!

So for dinner tonight I grilled Tempeh rubbed with some BBQ sauce, corn on cob and broccoli!!

IMG_2662

It was quite a healthy meal and moreover no pots or skillets to clean up.

And now time for recipe sharing!

Mutter Paneer (Peas and cottage cheese in a creamy curry)

AAH!When I talk about this recipe it makes me all nostalgic and brings back some of the best childhood memories. Paneer, a formΒ  of solid yet soft cheese made out of whole milk is one of the most loved ingredient in Indian cooking. It is also called Cottage cheese in India, totally different from the cottage cheese in USA.The recipes made from Paneer are a must have item whether it is a birthday party or a wedding. My family and I are Paneer fanatics and to say that we love it would be an understatement!!

I made this recipe for the husband before I left for the conference. Since we love Tofu too ( Read not as much as paneer) I make Mutter tofu when I am in no mood to go to the Indian grocery store. Let me tell ya guys tofu tastes good too! But if you want some authentic taste go ahead with the paneer!!

ingredients:

1 whole block of Paneer ( I think it was 15 0z)

1 1/2 cups of peas.

2 cups of 2% milk. ( normally this recipe calls for heavy cream, but my Mom has made it with milk always so I would advocate it too and of course for health reasons too)

Check out my Basic Indian curry recipe here for a step by step tutorial to show you how to cook the base for most Indian curries. I’ll take you ahead from the point where we add the curry back to the skillet after blending it to smoothness!!

IMG_2561

Once the curry starts coming to a boil, reduce the flame and add the 2 cups of milk. The flame should be low to prevent curdling as the acidity from the tomatoes in the curry can curdle it!!

IMG_2562

Once the whole things come to a boil again, adjust the seasonings and add 1/2 tsp sugar/ splenda. Then add the paneer and peas because once we add these we have to be very gentle.But again paneer is much better than even extra firm tofu. It is pretty firm!

IMG_2563

Let it come to a boil and cook covered on a medium flame for about 10 minutes!!

IMG_2564

Adjust the thinness of the curry by adding water!

IMG_2579

I made a big pot of this and freezed it in individual ziploc bags, the husband happily pulled out and heated it ,when I was away!!

**********************************************************************************************************

See you all tomorrow!! GN

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 14, 2009, in Indian, Main dish, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Hi there,
    I just stumbled upon your blog and I have added you to my google reader. I love your story and all of your great recipes. Thank you for sharing. I love curries and Indian food but I am relatively new to cooking them and always looking for tips and recipes so I was so pleased to see your post.

    Ren

  2. so, there are leftovers? Can you send some over? lol. I LOVE paneer!
    p.s. Hey, do you know the password to the email for warmfuzzies?

  3. Wow you have been quite productive! Congrats!

    I would also like leftover paneer… thank you πŸ˜‰

  4. My friend Smita, who is from India, make this exact dish for me about 3 months ago when she had me over for dinner. It was SO SO SO good!!! I even brought it home for Nick to try and he loved it too πŸ™‚ Yum.

  5. You HAVE been super productive! Wow. I love your dinner–that tempeh looks delicious!

    And thanks so much for the mutter paneer recipe. I’ve never made Indian food, but it’s so good! I’m going to bookmark this to make for dinner sometime soon πŸ˜€ Thanks!

  6. Hooray for being productive! All of your eats look amazing, as usual πŸ™‚

  7. Oh my goodness, both of those meals sound outstanding!!

    When you make it with tofu, do you use firm, soft, etc.? I’ve never had REAL Indian food but it looks absolutely incredible!

  8. Wow you did have a busy day! And I am bookmarking this recipe, it looks amazing!

  9. Your so organized! i wish I could be like that. I’m more of an “organized chaos” person…haha

  10. Delish! I absolutely love your tutorials πŸ™‚

  11. I am a big travel fan and my favorite places to stay are in cabins, cottages, and B

  12. Hello

    I am so excited to make the cheese and peas! I adore it to say the least. I will have to search out where I can get the paneer and spices though as I live in a small community.

    I was wondering if you have a recipe for the spicy carrots that are pickled? I would love to tackle that as I also love them.

    Thank you
    Debbie

  1. Pingback: Mutter Paneer (Peas and cottage cheese in a creamy curry) Β« – Indian Food blog

  2. Pingback: So much food! «

  3. Pingback: Curry, Sushi and chocolates!! « The Healthy Diary

Leave a Reply

