My new plan!

Good evening, hope everyone had a great start to the work week!!

Ever since I have beaten the funk this weekend, I am kind of in a upbeat mood ( Knock on wood). I am trying to work and push in with things. As for example my exercise schedules. I am not a morning person at all. I have always been a night owl and that really works for me. So when I try and tell myself that I will wake up in the morning to exercise, I am cheating myself because that is never ever going to happen. I am much more productive if I workout in the evening and then sleep in late like by 11:30- 12.00. I wake up at 7 am and then I get a good 7 hour sleep.

But for the past 15 days, I have been totally fooling myself by talking myself every evening that, I should sleep early because I have to wake up early. Due to the haste of sleeping early, I don’t complete all my work and ultimately I am loaded with work in the morning.Moreover I am not a person who can sleep as soon as their head drops on the pillow. I have to mull over things that happen over the day, scrutinize each and every detail! If some one said something why did they say that? Did they mean this or that? I take a good 45 minutes before my mind finally decides that it has to rest!!

As a result getting up at 5:30 am is next to impossible. Okay so you can’t get up in the morning, does not matter, because I am an expert at talking myself out of activity. Come evening and I am too tired to move my butt to the gym!

So what is the solution:

Well this situation met its end this weekend, while cleaning my CD/DVD shelf, I came across these DVDs.

IMG_2698

I had purchased these in the summer of 2007. I tried them and just shunned them away saying that they do not work. But I did lose 10 lbs! So I thought of giving them a try again. I tried the Total Body burn DVD and there is only one thing I can tell you that I was sore and unable to move even after 2 days. This just goes to show, how I mindlessly shun something!

Now my plan is to go to the gym twice a week, i.e on the weekends and one day during the week most likely Wednesday! I can do that right?Β  As for the weekdays, I have decided to do my Hip Hop DVDs. This will beat two birds with the same stone, one my laziness and the second my sleep issues!!

Today I did the Fat burning cardio and then some core workout!

Core Work:

20 regular crunches
20 bicycle crunches
20 reverse crunches
10 pushups ( I am a beginner)

I was soaked in sweat at the end of the workout. The whole workout bolstered my decison and I am so happy!!

Food:

Breakfast:

My usual cereal mix

IMG_2691

green monster

IMG_2692
Lunch:

Amys tamale verde with rice and black beans with Oikos honey greek yogurt
0615091217
Snack 1:

A vegan peppermint chocolate cookie. I got this at the University center which surprised me. Sometimes we get such useless stuff there and sometimes we get some of the nicest products. This company has a huge line of vegan products and even have gluten free cookies. This particular cookie was cakey and pretty good!!
0615091555a
I am going to try the other flavors too!

Dinner:

frozen veggie mix with Jalapeno salsa on a toasted bread!

IMG_2696

Mid way I realized I need some thing more, so I drank the Dal too!!

IMG_2697

I am beat, I am going to hydrate my body by sipping water while I read in bed!!

See y’all tomorrow!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on June 15, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I am definitely a workout at night person too! I just cant get up early on a weekday to workout, and I’m afraid of working too hard and being a zombie all day.

  2. I can never fall straight to sleep, either! I need a good while to lie there and process the day and what’s ahead.
    It’s good to know when you prefer to workout. I haven’t figured that out yet. I used to think it was before dinner but lately I like to do it during lunch!

  3. Great videos!! I didn’t used to be a video girl, but I have this pilates video that I love love love. They really can be great. I know what you mean regarding the morning workout. Every once in a while I try to get up really early to workout, but it normally backfires and I am super tired by like 2 pm, OR I don’t even wake up. I think it’s smart to listen to our bodies and try not to talk ourselves into new routines, it’s harder than it looks!

    Food looks great. I love the jalapeno salsa on the toasted bread, it looks delicious!

  4. Those hip hop dvds look fun! I cannot dance to save my life though, so I’d probably be a mess if I tried them! I’m glad you have a new plan πŸ™‚ I do much better workouts in the evening, too!

  5. Those videos sound fun! I hope you find that your new plan works well – I think it will πŸ™‚ I’m the same way with sleeping. I can’t just BOOM fall asleep, I lay there, think about things, think about other things, and maybe then fall asleep! It’s tough for us!

  6. Hey! It’s been a while since I stopped by. I’m so glad I came back on the day you discussed your new workout routine!! You can TOTALLY DO IT!! You found something fun (the DVDs) and you made a time schedule that actually works with your life and routine. You’re more than half way there!!! Good luck!!!!!!
    -A

  7. mm that cookie sounds awesome!!
    good luck with find your routine! I am just like in that I can’t just fall asleep right away.

  8. Those DVDS look neat! Loving your eats girl. Yum (esp. to that cookie) Thanks so much for commenting πŸ™‚
    ❀ jess

  9. angiesappetite

    Yum- looks like a delicious day of meals!

    And the DVD sounds fun! I need to try something like that at home for those days that you just don’t feel like going to the gym…You can totally do it! Good luck!

  10. I’m totally opposite. I can only work out in the mornings, and I doze off as soon as my head touches the pillow. I guess a good day of activity tires me out, and that’s the cycle I’ve gotten used to.But your plan sounds like a good plan!

  11. ummm not going to lie I love those DVDs one of my friends had them and they were awsome!

  12. Also, you don’t waste time commuting when you work out at home! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

