Perfect Monday!

Hey all!

did you have a good Monday? Isn’t that like the foolishest question to ask? But believe me mine was rocking, I woke up at around 9 am.Can you believe that, 9 am on a Monday morning? And no I had no health issue which kept me from sleeping that long. Actually in my current lab things begin atΒ  about 10 am which is cool.But tomorrow I have to be there by 7:30 am, but that is not a problem, once Monday passes by the week feels much better!

Okay I did not mention this in my last post, but I am going carb free for the next two weeks. That means no bread, rice, pasta or oatmeal for the next two weeks! Now don’t get me wrong I am all about whole food and good eating. I would never advocate depriving oneself of anything. But sometimes you just got to take some steps such that the body gets back in groove. I have been a South beach diet proponent always. The best thing about it is that even during the two week of hard controlling, it lets you eat good fats and most importantly beans and lentils which are hearty, filling and healthy!! This is what keeps me completely going and breaks that stalling!I have been trying to lose the last 15 pounds for some time now, but things are not taking off the way I want them to. So I did some thinking and came across this Drivers license picture that I had taken in 2007.

Normally we look up to others for inspiration, but this time it was my previous picture that gave me inspiration! I was so happy looking at my skin and the radiance in that picture.The picture was taken at my “almost at goal weight” of 125 lbs I suddenly got this epiphany and it made me realize that I need to get back to South beach diet of living!

I am happy on this path and this is what made me more happier.

I weighed myself,

07-11-09 (Saturday)- 139 lbs
07-12-09 ( Sunday) – 139 lbs
07-13-09 ( Monday) – 138lbs.

I was down 1 lb this morning. Now I know I’ll not lose like 15 lbs in 2 weeks and honestly I don’t want to, but I do want to get out of the trouble zone and break that stall, hence this step!!!

And with results comes the motivation to stick with what you are doing! I am really a big food fanatic, so if you offer me anything, it takes a lot of effort for me to say no and things get worse if something like a cake is offered! So get this, it was my friend Alisha’s birthday this Friday and she got cake for all of us. It just looked fantastic! It had coconut shreds and brown sugar, so you can just imagine how good it was. But your truly, did not touch the cake. i told her about the change I am making for the next two weeks and she and my other friend actually started listing the foods that I can enjoy. Glad to have such good friends!

Well here’s the cake,

IMG_3000

the husband will get half of it and then it will be frozen and I’ll enjoy it later! I required zero effort to say no! It was really totally unlike me and the decision to stick to my plan just came out naturally!

So I finally end my rambling and here are my eats for today:

Brekkie:

2 veggie sausage patties with 1/3 cup FFFV yogurt, handful of nuts and coffee sweetened with Agave.

IMG_2992

Lunch:

Last nights stirfry with Starbucks Iced coffee with Sugar free Vanilla syrup in Non fat milk! ( No picture)

Snack:

A handful of Almonds

IMG_2964

Dinner:

A “throw whatever you have in your fridge chili”

IMG_2999
with sliced cukes+ cherry tomatoes+pickle and kale chips

IMG_2998
Hearty!!

Workout:
After dinner I went for a walk.I have downloaded this app to my itouch called isteps. It helps you track the number of steps, pace, distance and calories burned.

Here are my stats:

Steps- 4547
Speed- 3.2 mph ( may be it was the food in the stomach that slowed me down. Yest I walked at a pace of 3.8 mph)
Dist- 2.07 miles
Cals- 216

Fun!

Oh and I forgot to show you the pics of the raw granola bar bites that i made. Here they are!

IMG_2912

IMG_2918

I think I’ll catch up on some blog reading for a while and then call it a day!

See you tomorrow!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on July 13, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I woke up at 9 this morning, too! Wow, carb free? You mean low-carb? I don’t think it’s possible (or safe!) to consume no carbs. Good luck following the South Beach diet, though πŸ™‚ I’d miss oatmeal too much! Those raw granola bites look delicious πŸ™‚

  2. Good luck with your goals! I’m not generally a fan of low-carb Atkins-type things, but I like that South Beach allows things like beans/lentils and after the first couple of weeks, seems a pretty solid plan. Hope all goes well πŸ˜€

  3. Good luck these next two weeks. It rocks so much that you made up your mind and you are committed to your decision and yourself.

    I have always thought the SBD was a good plan (healthy fats, low GI, etc.). My problem with it is I gained weight because I took it as an all you can eat plan. HAHA

    I can’t wait to see all your yummy SBD foods!

Leave a Reply

