Things I have learned from Phase I

Hello Ladies!

Hope everyone had a great day!! I am just three days away from my SBD phase I completion and I am so happy and excited!

Here are a few things that I have learned in the past few days:

CONTROL:

I seriously lacked this aspect to myself. I don’t know but put a bag of tortilla chips or French fries and I’ll go crazy with it. I can never administer control and to say that I’ll stick to just three, four  or five chips throughout the course of the entire meal was a joke for me. I am always in awe of bloggers who say that. But it is all about commitment, when you seriously want to do something you will do it and it will require very little effort. This Saturday i went to my fav Mexican place and ordered Shrimp Rancheros which comes with Rice, beans drizzled with cheese and tons of chips! Now if this would happen three weeks ago, half the bowl of tortilla chips would be inhaled even before the main course arrived. But this time I really and really stuck to just 8 chips, said no to rice and spooned out the cheese! I am proud of myself! I really am! This was one and only one thing CONTROL!

Of course I should not forget my exhibit of control when my friend offered me a coconut iced cake and it is still in the refrigerator. I just realized that it takes a moment to succumb to that craving and break the streak but it takes forever to build one, so why should i let an object like chip or cake come in between me and my streak!

I am proud to say that my streak is almost Two Weeks old and I am cake, chip or sweet free!

No Diet rules are etched in stone:

I bend the rules for myself all the time when it comes to food. If my diet wants me to go sugar free, I will not go and eat a no sugar added banana cake at Starbucks but I will definitely sweeten my coffee with some Agave or just a small tsp of real sugar! And the best part although I was consuming these sweeteners that the SBD prohibits, I lost weight. So I did not follow their guidelines with closed eyes but modified it based on my likes and dislikes.

Breakfast was a major problem! I eats eggs but with a bad expression. My honest confession to the blogworld I cannot cook eggs and I am not a big fan of them! I can only eat the Sunny side up or Poached egg prepared by my Mom.Other than that I am never never happy with eggs! For the first three days, I tried eating eggs with passion and vigor but after that i just did not want to look at it! That is when I thought that aha aha….YOGURT!! Eggs were swapped for yummy yogurt combos!

Saying Yes to Salads:

I am not kidding when I say this but I really thought that eating Salads is the most BLAH thing in the world! But now things have changed, I am consuming salad and they are growing on me! I am trying different topping and they satisfy my appetite!

Choice of Snacks:

Can you believe my choice of snacking has gone from this

IMG_2934

to this!

IMG_3058

My eyes never went beyond the chips and the bars. While the bars are good, the chips not so good!

Over all this experience has widened my food choices inspite of the limitations! But many bloggers to do that on a daily basis not as stringently but with good control.

My whole idea is to not go berserk when I enter phase II but things I am really looking forward to are:

  • Fruits- I have missed them each and every day in the past two weeks…sniff..sniff!!
  • Oatmeal, I’ll finally have a substantial healthy breakfast!
  • Green monsters- Lack of banana have made them not so appetizing and fun!

If only there was something that would give me some control over my workouts, I am too lazy about them!!!

That’s all enough rambling!

Back to normal post from tomorrow!

Nite!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on July 22, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. sounds like it’s been a great learning experience for you! Stage 2 sounds much more fun- yay oatmeal! I’ve never mastered the art of cooking eggs either… I leave that to my mom 😛

  2. You can find so many great ideas for add ins to salads through blogging and recipe websites. I think I eat a salad nearly every day and I never used to like them as a kid.

  3. GREAT lessons learned. Tortilla chips are my biggest food weakness…I just love them. For me, if I’m trying to pull back on the chips- its best for me to not even have one at the restaurant (otherwise I’ll just keep nibbling at that through the whole meal!). Salads are never boring 🙂 Glad you’re loving them as well now too!

  4. Sounds like some wonderful progress!! : ) That’s awesome! I agree … it’s hard to stop nibbling chips once you start!

  5. Great goals, and I especially think you are on the right track allowing yourself to still have some sugar every once in a while. Depriving yourself 100% is never good, as you know. Salads can be really wonderful, you’ve just got to know what to put on them! Those nuts would be great for a nice “crunch” factor, replacing croutons.
    Keep up the good work!

  6. What an amazing learning experience, keep up the hard work.. it will pay off 🙂

  7. I absolutely love how this diet has gotten you to think about yourself and your choices. I think that sometimes that is the hardest part of changing anything.

    I’m so proud of you. And yay for fruit!

    As for exercise… start small – commit to a 10 minute walk every day.

  8. angiesappetite

    Yay Priyanka! You are doing great!

    Congrats on your hard work and success!

  9. I like how you say no diet rules are etched in stone! Usually I don’t let myself eat after 9 (to prevent snacking), but sometimes things happen and dinner ends up not being put on the table until 9! Sometimes you really just have to go with the flow and looks at the big picture 🙂

  10. Way to go with SBD!! That’s awesome. I found the Kabocha at Kroger where the other squashes are (like butternut, acorn, etc.). Lemme know if you try it out!

  11. I love that you customize your diet according to your needs/beliefs! thats awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

