Gajar Ka Halwa ( Carrot Pudding)

It has really been a while since I have posted a recipe and this one is my favoritest Indian dessert! Talk about Gajar Ka Halwa to an Indian and they will begin drooling about it in no time!It is like the most popular dessert and really simple to make. It can be complicated too but lets face it who wants a complicated recipe! This recipe comes from my Mom’s recipe  treasures. This recipe is not only quick but highly nutritious and the best part it can be completely veganized!

IMG_3926

Ingredients:

2 carrots shredded ( about 1.5 cups)

1 cup milk ( I used dairy, non dairy should be just fine in this recipe)

few strands of saffron

1/4 cup crushed mixed nuts

2 tbsp Agave

IMG_3911

In a medium saucepan, at about medium to low heat, add the shredded carrots and sauté it until the color of the carrots changes from Bright Orange to a hue of yellow!

IMG_3914

Follow it up by adding 1 cup of milk, dairy or non dairy and let it boil lightly at about medium heat.

IMG_3915

Adding the saffron is completely optional, it just adds a lovely yellow color, but the carrot adds a nice color!

This is how you prep the saffron, to about 1 tbsp of warm water add the strands of saffron and let them sit for about 5 minutes until the color of the water changes

IMG_3918

IMG_3919

IMG_3923

Next up are the crushed nuts. I use this special powder by an Indian company Everest! It is basically a mixture of nuts, cardamom powder and saffron.

IMG_3920

IMG_3921

and lastly sweeten it up! I added Agave!

IMG_3924

IMG_3925

The final product!

IMG_3929

I really urge you to try this not only for its taste but also for its simplicity!

Last chance to enter my Hawaiian Giveaway!

See you tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on August 23, 2009, in DESSERT, Indian, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This is SOOo weird…I was JUST listening to this carrot pudding recipe on The Splendid Table!

  2. That looks delicious! Thanks for the recipe tutorial. I love seeing all your fabulous Indian dishes 🙂

  3. This sounds totally fabulous. I have never seen anything like this. Thank you for the simple recipe 🙂 Hope you have a good Monday

  4. Looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I need to get together with my friend Smita and do some shopping for Indian spices!

  5. Looks delicious! I used to fly with Air India and was served that at one of the meals…so good!

  6. Oooh that sounds good! I’ve never heard of anything like that before – thanks 🙂

  7. You wouldn’t think carrot pudding would be nice, but it looks amazing when you show the recipe.

  8. You always have such great recipes! Thanks for sharing!

  9. wow this looks very very good. i have a jar of saffron and i’ve never made anything with it yet….

  10. this is right up my alley – i have never tried this before, and it looks delicious! cardamom is seriously one of my favorite spices – mmmmmm!

    have a good night!

    http://thehealthyeverythingtarian.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

