Savory Semolina Muffins!

IMG_3958

Oh my god! These savory muffins were to die for and so tasty and filling! semolina is one of the favorite breakfast item in India. Basically it is the endosperm of wheat and it is from the semolina that we get couscous! Couscous is rolled semolina! So if you don’t find semolina I think couscous can be easily substituted!

Recipe:

(  I used this recipe and it gave me four hearty muffins)

1/2 cup greek yogurt

3/4 cup semolina

3/4 cup carrots and peas

1/2 tsp turmeric

salt

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda ( Very Important)

water to thin out!

For the tempering:

1 tbsp EVOO

Cumin seeds

Mustard seeds!

If you don’t have the seeds and don’t want to temper, then go ahead and add the oil to the batter!

Mix the first ingredients in a bowl and add water to thin it out so that you have a muffin batter texture!

Pour them into muffin pan and cook for about 30 minutes in a 350 F oven!

This was so good and crispy when it was out from the oven!!!

Divine!!

IMG_3957

________________________________________________________________________

Onto my eats for today!

Breakfast:

Regular oats with Bear naked vanilla almond granola ( that I did not like) with choco syrup!!

IMG_3955

IMG_3956

Lunch:

Savory Muffin with kashi crackers, grapes and Iced tea!

IMG_3961

Dinner:

A yummy cannellini beans and eggplant curry with brown rice and Greek yogurt!

IMG_3964

with apples

IMG_3969

and water

IMG_3970

I am teaching  tomorrow, kinda nervous!! I know I should sleep but my mind is racing!!

See y’all tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on August 27, 2009, in Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Good luck teaching tomorrow!
    Those muffins look awesome…I can’t remember what I have had semolina in but I saw it on an ingredient list somewhere recently.

  2. All of your food looks incredible! Those muffins sound wonderful. Good luck teaching tomorrow – I’m sure you’ll do great!

  3. I am sure you are a great teacher- you manage to teach us all a thing or two about cooking! Those muffins sound GREAT!

    I didn’t like the vanilla ganola much- the fruit and nut one is awesome though 🙂

  4. Yum, yum! Those do look pretty savory and delicious : )

    Good luck teaching!!! I’m sure you’re do fabulous!

  5. Good luck with the teaching!!! The muffins look awesome- love that there are veggies in them. cannellini beans are quickly becoming my favorite bean. I love both them and pinto. Great din din

  6. What was wrong with the granola? I’m sad to hear you didn’t like it.

    Good luck teaching!

  7. Oh good luck teaching today! You will do great, once you do it once it will be a piece of cake.

    Love the savory muffins, the recipe sounds so unique!!

  8. April (Foods of April)

    Thanks for the info on those grains! I’ve always wondered what they are!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  9. Those muffins look so interesting! Thank you for the recipe!!

    Good luck today! You’ll be great!!

  10. Good luck teaching, although I’m sure you don’t need it!!

  11. Wow…. those muffins looks GREAT!
    -A

  12. Those muffins look really good. and the eggplant curry too! yum yum

  13. You’ll do fabulous tomorrow, Priyanka! Best thoughts and wishes your way!
    And I LOVE semolina and its gritty taste! I was stupid and thought it was from corn, though. IT’s yellow!

  14. Those are so pretty! I love how you can see the veggies in them.

  15. You have amazing pictures on the blog 🙂

  16. Amazing muffins, they look so delicious.

Leave a Reply

