$$$ issues!

Good evening blog friends!

So last night i spent a lot of time refreshing my genetics concepts

IMG_4073

and then this morning delivered it all. Finally home and relaxing!!

My breakfast this morning!

Oats in left over PB jar and thankfully I did not melt the jar this time!! Enjoyed it with a nice cuppa of coffee!!

IMG_4026

IMG_4027

I came home after the TA and all I wanted was a quick lunch so that I could drop my head on the pillow and go to sleep!! I napped slept for 4 hours. I was up at 5 and so so fresh, I was so full of energy.

Lunch was a banana wrap with PB,choco chips, maple syrup and coconut shreds.

IMG_4074

I was in no mood of snacking today but I focused on something really really important our finances. I steered off my monthly budget up until recently but today I just reviewed our expenditure. I was so so embarrassed on the amount of money I have been spending on my multiple trips to the grocery store. The amount spent is alarming and it really calls for some serious action.I am still going through all of it right now. I’ll post the details and my plan of action tomorrow.

Q. Do you have any tips to get down grocery bills and misc expenses?

Dinner was some Baked Veggie pasta, baked Brussels sprouts and lightly salted potato chips.

IMG_4075

Loved my dinner, filling and yummy!!!

Back to working on my finances and I think I’ll definitely have a late night snack.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on September 25, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I havent left you any comments but i do read your blog all the time! I know life gets in the way of the things you want to do sometimes but i just wanted to let you know that im glad your back =].. Have a great weekend!

  2. I recently stopped buying anything extra (cereal, chips, rice cakes, rice, bars, frozen meals, canned goods) before I go through everything in my cabinets! Basically I realized I keep buying new food, without going through what I already have. Try to see how long you can live off of what you have! It is really saving me money so far. I only buy fresh fruits and veggies, and sometimes meat. I’ve been going for about a week and plan to do it another week. I’ve probably saved about 50 or 60 dollars so far 🙂

  3. I buy what’s on sale, I buy organic only when it’s on that dirty dozen list (or it’s cheap), I don’t buy anything processed that I can make myself. I make a few cheap base recipes in bulk that I can add to throughout the week. And I meal plan! It makes a surprising difference.

    Anything that’s not on my grocery list, I put in the top of the shopping cart (the little seat?). Before I check out, I look at all of those things and consider if I really need it or even really want it, how much does it cost, what am I going to do with it. I put most of it back after thinking about it again.

    I only buy groceries for one, and I don’t cook a lot of meat, but I spend about 100-150 dollars a month.

  4. We spend a lot at the grocery store. I have some reservations about it, because we probably could save more. However, we have different likes and dislikes, my hubby and I, when it comes to food. Also, we eat very healthy and accept that that is going to cost more. We don’t eat out much at all, and if we do we make it last for more than just that meal.

    I love Gina’s point about using what you HAVE first.

    One way I do think I save $$ is by buying grains in bulk (quinoa, millet, pasta, and oats). Then I have a “base” for a meal all the time and am less likely to go to the store for one meal’s worth of food.

  1. Pingback: Do you buy Organic? «

  2. Pingback: Meal planning | The Healthy Diary

Leave a Reply

