Gettin in control

Thanks guys for all the money saving advice!After all the tallying yesterday, I was not very happy with the amount of money I have been impulsively spending. I am taking the concept of “Eating healthy will cost me” way too ahead. I really liked the idea of sticking to the pantry items and emptying them first before running to the grocery store.

So things that I have learned to get in control:

  1. Clear off the pantry items first and then jump into the car to get to the favorite spot in the world The Grocery Store!!
  2. Meal planning: Many people vouch for this idea and I think its time I take the plunge!
  3. Give coupon a shot..I think??? What are your thoughts about this. I have never been into coupons, so any idea about this concept highly appreciated.
  4. Keep a check on impulsive buying!!! Just a quick thought on that one, I have started thinking a lot if I really need to spend on something..and really really think!  Requires effort but it is paying off..I feel so happy in the end!

My life will be much easier if I stick to these four things to begin with! Just like food blogging makes me accountable about what I eat, Spend app on my Itouch will help me in recording those untimely and spontaneous spending!

It has been pouring continuously since morning but thankfully it has calmed down now!! Thank goodness we can have the Tennessee Vs Ohio game!

tenn-masthead-t-whole

I have never been interested in football but my allegiance towards Tennessee is sparking an interest in me!

Moving on  my eats:

Breakfast was a simple Oatmeal with chai tea!

[This is irritating me, the picture does not want to get uploaded]

Lunch was a total Indian fest today with Cauliflower with potatoes, Dal, Puri (deep fried bread) and brown rice!!

IMG_4080

My tummy was full and happy after this meal!

We acted nerdy this afternoon and decided to play some chess but the bad news I lost.

IMG_4081

Dinner was some Schezuan tofu with peppers on brown rice. The curry was made at home!!

IMG_4084

IMG_4083

Before I leave look at this German chocolate loot that my husband got this time.

IMG_4062

IMG_4061

Well that was my day! Hope you are having a nice weekend! I sure am, this is the first weekend without tests and assignments!!

Have a nice evening and see y’all tomorrow

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on September 26, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. April (Foods of April)

    I’m a coupon freak! I signed up for so much free stuff online.. it’s great! haha.

    Those chocolates look so yummy!

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

  2. Yum, the tofu dish looks so good. Anyone who can make tofu look good is talented in my mind 🙂

    I think coupons are great, but they can really be disastrous if you use them in the wrong way. Some people will end up buying something just because they have a coupon for it, while they would not have spent the money had they not had a coupon. Basically they are great for the foods you were planning on purchasing, but those are rare. When you find them, you might as well use them! It adds up and they do help you save in the long run.

  3. coupons are amazing – as a food blogger you should write to companies whose products you frequently buy and see if they’ll send you some coupons! then you can double them at certain stores – big savings.

  4. I love coupons. I picked it up from my mother when i was a teenager because i used to do the food shopping for my house. She would make me up a list from the store flyer and then go through all her coupons and find everything that was on the list. The bills would usually be around $140.00 every week or two and she would save at least $20-$30 in coupons plus the instore savings every time i went. A lot of the time the supermarkets near me run double or triple coupon savings so it makes it even more worth it! Even if you have one $1.00 coupon its worth it!

    • Sally~Firstly thank you very much for reading the blog and now commenting.Second, I liked your thoughts about Coupons,Thanks again!!

  5. I used to be all about coupons until I found myself buying thing I would never buy to begin with. As a result I was spending more on things I never ate! Once in awhile I’ll find coupons on staples I enjoy like Oikos, Blue diamond, etc. Those are useful!

  6. I love all the different ethnic foods you eat. I wish I could work more into my diet, but I just don’t know enough about them yet.

  7. Glad you found the tips helpful! With impulse buying at the supermarket, you could also set aside a certain amount of money in your budget for impulse buys. That way if you see a new product you really want to try, you know you have $10 (or whatever) dedicated towards that purpose.

  8. Your lunch looks so good! And I’m so bad about menu planning–I should really work on that. Enjoy your sunday!

  9. Coupons aren’t big here but I keep an eye out for special offers/BOGOF stuff. Meal planning and making lists DEFINITELY helps me a lot! I am trying to run down my cupboards/fridge a bit… I have enough to last me, but keep buying more food 😛

  1. Pingback: Menu planning |

Leave a Reply

