Falafel

IMG_4156

 

A popular middle eastern recipe, these are basically deep fried fritter balls made of Garbanzo beans. Some use Fava bean in combination with Chickpeas. The best way to eat them is to insert them in Pitas or flat breads with taboulli salad, Tahini sauce and hummus! I have heard a lot about them but never tried them up until recently when I saw them on Caitlin’s blog. I love making stuff at home whenever I can and it wasn’t that difficult.

This dish reminded me of the Chana dal fritters my Mom makes. We make it with Bengal gram dal/chana dal which is soaked over night and ground next day with the same stuff used here.

Falafel making does require before hand planning because you have to soak the beans over night. I had a huge batch of the mixture, so I shallow fried some and froze the rest!

Important: Please do not use canned beans, the liquid from the beans will sog up the whole mixture and break apart on you when you are trying to fry them and  it will be nothing less than a mess!

I have added the step by step picture tutorial in the end!

Ingredients:

3 cups soaked chickpeas

1 onion

1/2 bunch of cilantro (or 1/4 bunch Parsley and 1/4 bunch cilantro)

5 cloves garlic

1 tsp ground coriander

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Salt and black pepper

2/3 cup Whole wheat bread crumbs

2/3 cup of Canola/ vegetable oil.

Directions:

  • Start by soaking the chickpeas overnight. After soaking overnight, they almost double in size.
  • In a food processor pulse them till they are broken down completely but not too fine. We just want a kind of gritty texture. Get it out in a mixing bowl.
  • Next chop the onion, garlic, cilantro ( I used only cilantro, the husband is not a fan of parsley. If you are using parsley use the flat leaf kind) and spices.Pulse it to chop it, you don’t want a paste
  • Add to the chickpea mixture and next add the bread crumbs. From here on be speedy with your work beacuse the onion has a tendency to start  releasing water and that can cause the mixture to fall apart on you.
  • The patties can be shaped using a falafel maker, two spoon method but trust me the best way is to shape using your hands.
  • Begin with one and see if it falling apart.If it is still intact thats good but if not then add some more bread crumbs to make the mixture dryer.
  • When it is a nice golden brown on both sides, it is ready to be eaten.

 

IMG_4136

IMG_4137

IMG_4138

IMG_4139

IMG_4140

IMG_4141

IMG_4142

 

TA-DA

IMG_4158

For the past two days, I have incorporated Falafel in these two forms in my diet

IMG_4150 IMG_4144

Give it a try and let me know how it turns out for ya!!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on October 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. YES! Your falafel recipe! This looks totally doable and reasonably priced. I’m excited to try it.

  2. Yum, I will be giving these a try asap!!

  3. Great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing. I LOVE falafel. I have never made my own, but I should!! I like it plain, or in a pita, or even on top of a salad. It’s so versatile.

  4. mmmm love this. I have never made this at home but have gotten it out to eat before. Perfect on a sammy or in a salad! Thanks for sharing girl

  5. Ahhh wonderful. I’ve been searching for a good falafel recipe, and yours looks great!

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog; I love yours too.. Can’t wait to keep reading!

  6. Yum! I’ve heard that you can bake falafel too. Is it true?

  7. Meredith~ That is what I am planning to do next! I thought I should try and get the taste for the recipe right, baking is what I plan to do next!

  8. oh my gosh…i opened the blog and just about drooled when i saw this. falafel is one of my FAVORITES!!!

  9. That looks DELICIOUS! So excited to try this!!

  10. I got to this site by searching Google. I must say that this looks succulent. Thanks for taking your time posting this recipe!

Leave a Reply

