Do you buy Organic?

Good evening,

Hope everyone had a great Thursday!

What a lovely day we had today! It was a splendid seventy, bright and crisp .The day began with a nice oatmeal with some coconut frosting and figs. Although I ate it in a haste, each and every bite was yummy. Long back I had read Caitlin comparing sweetened and unsweetened coconut on her blog and today I understood what she meant. The difference between the two is huge. I loved the sweetened kind!

IMG_4252since I had no coffee with breakfast, I knew I had to indulge in some Starbucks ;P

Pumpkin spice latte it was, as you know I am not a fan of Pumpkin but I am making an effort to like it! anyways this was yummy!

Latte with Laptop 🙂

IMG_4253

Lunch time:

IMG_4213

WW English muffin “Pizza” with Paprika corn

IMG_4214

and apples on a sunny day!

IMG_4215

Then it was time to go to the lab. This afternoon the lab group celebrated the October bday boys and girls! There was a lot of Italian food made and brought by the group members. Obviously there was no food left when I reached there but there was cake and doughnuts!

I indulged in some cake with grapes!

IMG_4257

Dinner today was consumed in part, both the husband and I were starving the moment we came home so we ate a nice snack.

Morning star farms buffalo wings and carrots with hummus and ranch.

IMG_4256

Dinner part two a veggie wrap!

IMG_4218

These were my eats for the day!

So for the past few months I have been thinking a lot about Organic food! The concept of going organic is good for the body and the environment. I always wanted to go that way, but with the overspending that I was doing it just wasn’t going to work out. Once I got my act together financially I realized there were items that I could afford to go organic on,on my grocery list!

So I decided to buy organic dairy. The products that I am buying Organic currently are

IMG_4258

  • 2% Milk
  • Half and Half
  • plain yogurt
  • Greek yogurt.

I think it is a good place to begin and baby steps is the way to go.

Do you buy organic, what are your thoughts about it?

Giveaway alert:

Check out the awesome giveaway on Gina’s blog!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on October 22, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I am scared of some organic dairy… that brand Horizon? I’ve read some pretty crazy things about it. I usually buy certain fruits and veggies (from the dirty dozen list) organic and buy organic meat… I’ve never really thought much about organic milk because I buy mine from a local farm.

    You are brave putting that coffee on your laptop!! With my luck, it’d be a total disaster.

  2. when i buy fruit/produce i try to avoid the “dirty dozen” and buy organic for that. and always organic dairy and meats, if i can. but sometimes i can’t.

  3. Never thought about buying organic dairy but think most of mine is, well the yoghurts anyway!

    Loving your lunch pizzas! Yum!

    Jem

  4. I try to buy organic as much as possible but let’s be realistic…it’s so freaking expensive! The only real difference I can tell is in my fruits and veggies so those are definite organic buys.

  5. I love the look of that enlgish muffin pizza! I usually buy organic grapes and apples. If the price diff isn’t too big, I’ll usually go for other organic stuff.

  6. Love the English muffin pizza:)

  7. Thanks for the giveaway shout out 🙂

    Your food choices look delicious! That cake especially…yummm, I’m such a sucker for cake.

    Regarding the organic vs. conventional issue, I do what you are doing and buy organic dairy and meat only! I also buy organic fruits and veggies from the “dirty” list, such as strawberries and lettuce, and sometimes apples.

    Great post!

  8. I do my best to buy organic whenever it’s available for the foods I want. I don’t always think it’s healthier for me, necessarily, but I know what kind of farm I’d rather work on.

Leave a Reply

