Spilt pea soup

Hey guys! The test clouds have finally passed and life feels good again. I have just two more take home tests and I’ll be officially done with this semester!

I had no recordable eats since morning but I am back to regular food journaling now!

Here’s dinner,

IMG_4492

So,I have never ever tried Cornbread at home before, I picked up the Jiffy brand last weekend and I knew I had to make it today. When talking about it with my friend Rachel yesterday,she suggested I add some corn too! Well I added and since it turned out to be a success here I am picturing it and giving her the credit 🙂 Well that was the deal that if it is a success I give her the credit and if not…then…well….it has to be counted as just another cooking disaster in Priyanka’s kitchen!

Alongside was a simple yet tasty split pea soup!

IMG_4494

  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 small potato
  • 2/3 cup diced crushed tomato
  • 1 cup split pea
  • Cayenne pepper
  • cumin powder
  • Salt and pepper

IMG_4493

This was simply good, I topped it off with some feta cheese!!!!!!!!! I thought I will have to return back for seconds but this was so stuffing that i didn’t go back!

IMG_4497

Oh and also smeared some Smart balance on the corn bread!

Off to catch up on my reader and then it is getting life back in order, since this week has made everything topsy-turvy!!!

Nite!

Giveaway alert:

Check out the very chocolaty Giveaway by Taylor.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on November 21, 2009, in Dinner, Soup, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I buy the Jiffy cornbread too! it’s pretty tasty, and very cheap. The soup looks wonderful!

    Enjoy your weekend, stress free I hope!

  2. Cornbread and soup is a wonderful combination. I love the slight sweetness to cornbread. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. LOVE cornbread! I may have to try that soup. I love that it doesn’t have ham in it! I’m a veggie so I’ve been on the search for a good veggie version of split pea! Hooray for the end of the semester

  4. I never would’ve thought to put feta on split pea soup, but I loooove them separately!

  5. I’ve never tried corn bread, it looks like a bread I would enjoy too. Great idea topping the soup with feta, I should try that with my tomato soup 🙂

  6. I love split pea soup! Congrats on being almost done!

Leave a Reply

