Tofu Tikka

I just love anything Tikka, be it Chicken tikka, Paneer tikka or mushroom tikka. I think they are the perfect little piece of work. With a creamy marination seeping within the body of the main ingredient, they can be eaten as appetizers, over salads or in wraps. Simply Delish!!

This evening I decided to try Tofu Tikka. Now before you jump on to any conclusions let me just say that this is a good dish to try, but they come no where close to the paneer tikka. The marinade did not go within the body of the tofu but still added a great burst of flavor on the surface.

The easy availability of the Tofu makes it more favorable over Paneer. I would give this recipe starstarstar out of 5 stars!

It is definitely a must try!

IMG_0022

The marinade: (For a full block of tofu)

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 clove garlic ground
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 tsp red chili powder
  • a hit of shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper

IMG_0017

Tofu cut into cubes marinating in the marinade

IMG_0018

Ideally Tikka is cooked in a clay oven or baked, but due to the shortage of time, I just pan seared them.

IMG_0020

Served over brown rice and garnished with cilantro. This was a great meal in totality and I will make it again in the future!

IMG_0028

IMG_0034

Have you tried Tikka before?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 3, 2010, in Indian, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love tikka as well! I’ve never thought to put cheese in the marinade — is that your special touch?

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    ooh i’m bookmarking this recipe and am going to try it soon! i haven’t had any kind of tikka except chicken, which is out the window as a vegetarian 😉

  3. Your tofu tikka sounds truly tasty:) Thanks for visiting my blog!

  1. Pingback: Random « The Healthy Diary

Leave a Reply

