Recipe: Navratan Korma and Paris: part IV

Like the catchy title, well not all dishes in India are called Curries. This dish is called Navratan Korma and when broken down it translates to,

Navratan- Nine Jewels. Just like Seven treasure stirfry in Chinese cooking, this dish is made up of nine veggies and milk+ cream.

Korma- This basically means a gravy. The word Korma has Persian origin and was brought into the Indian culture by the Mughals. Donโ€™t worry I am not giving you an Indian history class ๐Ÿ™‚ So moving on if you want to experience bliss try this dish. I served it with some Jeera rice which translates to Cumin flavored rice and we had a party for our eyes, nose and taste buds this evening. You had to be here to experience the aroma!!

P.S. โ€“ I have not used many veggies here but settled down with what ever I had in my kitchen. The same applies to you guys, just add what you have at home ๐Ÿ™‚

Navratna Korma

IMG_0031

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp ghee/butter/ oil
1/4 cup raisins and cashews
4 garlic cloves finely minced
1 tbsp minced ginger

1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp ground chili powder (or cayenne)
1 tsp coriander powder
2 tsp garam masala

1 Medium onion, finely chopped
1 8oz can tomato sauce
3/4 Cup milk
3 Cups boiled vegetables (potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, peas, bell pepper, green beans)
Salt to taste

  • Start by heating up the ghee and allowing it to melt,add the raisins and cashews and allow them to cook for just 30 seconds. Then add the onion, ginger and garlic.
  • Let the onion and garlic cook till translucent, if they cook for too long and start changing color they start getting bitter
  • Next the tomato sauce. Once the tomato and oil start separating, add the spices and sautรฉ for another minute
  • Add all the veggies and mix
  • Now add some water about 3 cups
  • Season and then finally add the milk. Now traditionally heavy cream is used to make this creamy, but my Mum always made the dish taste just like the real thing by subbing then with healthy ingredients. I would say go for milk but if you want to give it the traditional touch add heavy cream.
  • Cook for another two minutes and then garnish with tons of cilantro.

Dinner is served!!!

*****

Moving on to the last part of my Parisian vacation!

Galeries Lafayette

A high end French departmental store, which was very very very expensive. The clothes amazing, the price on the tag not so much. But the decorations and lights were super!

IMG_0467

IMG_0468

IMG_0469

IMG_0472

The puppet and Mannequin displays caught the attention of all passersby, both young and the young at heart.

IMG_0460

IMG_0476

IMG_0477

IMG_0478

IMG_0479

and to end it all, I spread a lot of Operation beautiful messages across Europe ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0008

IMG_0009

IMG_0019

If you see I tried and wrote these messages in German and French using the tool Google Translate! It was a fun thing to do!

I hope you like this Paris recap, I sure did and each time I publish a post, I wish to be there again. I truly believe that this place is one of the most beautiful and romantic city in the world!

*******

Lastly I apologize for being the worst blogger ever. Life as a graduate student is tough. This semester I have signed up for some really demanding classes which require a lot of preparation and writing. Well it is a good thing cuz one I will be done with classes this semester and second I have my PhD Qualifiers this fall and these classes are a great way to train myself.

Okay enough of that…I’ll see you tomorrow!

Good Night!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on January 25, 2010, in Indian, Recipes, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    ooh those dishes look amazing! love that you spread operation beautiful all over europe, how cooL! ah i can’t even imagine being a grad student, i feel for you!

  2. “not all dishes in India are called Curries”

    THANK YOU for saying that! ๐Ÿ™‚ That is one of my pet peeves, when someone says “I don’t like Indian food, I don’t like curry.”

    I’ll have to try that Navratan Korma sometime, I need to work on my desi vegetable dish repertoire.

    Good luck with this semester, you’re almost done with the phD coursework!

  3. Love the Paris photos!!

    And, so cool that you left OB notes around Europe. Brilliant!

    I have an award for you at Angie’s Appetite ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I came over here to see the korma recipe and I find myself looking longingly at your Paris photos….my God I don’t want to be home!!

  1. Pingback: Macaroons |

Leave a Reply

