Eats and how to?

Good evening bloggies,
If this post is seeing the light of the day it is because I preplanned a bit and start writing all of my eats and then  hurriedly inserted pictures in the end to get the post up. It is Maniacal Monday and have a tons of scientific literature to read, now only if the assignment would be to read food blogs. How much fun would that be?!

Onto to my eats,

Oatmeal with figs, carob chips, almonds, flax seed and brown sugar. One of my favorite oatmeal combo!

IMG_0010

IMG_0011

Lunch:

Dill Rice with some celery and carrots and Brown rice instead of white. Perfect with a dollop of yogurt and some Stacy’s Pita chips on the side!

IMG_0022

IMG_0023

and some Merci bar to sweeten my palate πŸ™‚

IMG_0025

 

Dinner was simple and lite, Dal with veggies and Rice this time I ate White!

IMG_0131

Snacks I missed:

1 serving of Pita chips

Pringles baked Jalapeno sticks!

******

Just a simple How-to I wanted to share:

How to store Ginger?

I have always thought that Ginger is expensive and can go bad easily in the refrigerator. So it is a good idea to store it in the Freezer. Now many of you must be already knowing this trick but I thought its good to share just in case someone finds it useful.

So I wash my ginger,

IMG_0004

Cut them into about 1” pieces

IMG_0005

Peel the skin off

IMG_0006

Chop the skin and store it in Tupperware to add to my Chai, so I can have some nice warmth in this freakin cold weather!

IMG_0007

And then store these ginger pieces in a ziploc. The next time you want to add them to a dish, just grate them with a micro-zester straight from the freezer. oh yeah they grate phenomenally even if they are frozen, isn’t that cool!

 

****

In other news, it is a special day for me tomorrow πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Tips. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce

    that’s how i store my ginger too, in the freezer all peeled up! nice bowl of oats πŸ™‚ enjoy your special day!

  2. Wow, that bowl looks fantastic. What a way to start your day πŸ™‚

  3. Your lunch and dinner both made me drool.

  4. I always grow dill in the summertime and never know what to do with it! I saved that rice recipe to try sometime. That’s how I keep my ginger πŸ™‚

  5. Ginger always intimidates me so this post is very useful! Thank you!

    The dill rice looks great too!

  6. I always try to buy small chunks of ginger so I can use it up quickly. I had heard of storing it in the freezer, but that never quite made sense to me because it seemed like it would be harder to peel. Your post makes perfect sense! Thank you – now I can go ahead and buy the larger chunks and not lament being out of fresh ginger – I love adding ginger to just about everything. Ginger & garlic are a part of just about every stir fry dish I make.

Leave a Reply

