Eye on the target

This was what one of my fellow PhD student said to me at the lab today. I promise I’ll mention this for the last time on the blog, but this semester is getting particularly overwhelming for me. Between classes and lab I am just concentrating on feeling Sorry for myself more than looking at the positive aspect that, after this semester, no more classes, no more tests, no more assignments. It will be just be me and my research. How great is that feeling gonna be ? But Alas it is only the negative feelings that are ruling the mind at the moment.

I meet this fellow grad student named M everyday when I pass the hallway either to grab a coffee or to get to my own lab. Each time he asks "Hey! how’s it going?" and each time I answer a rather terse "Pretty good" with a smile. Today it just spilled out of my mouth.."Terrible". Then I realized I shouldn’t have said that. Then the conversation started and he mentioned about how things are going with him.How he had a time in his PhD life where things were overwhelming and terrible for him. But now he is almost done and in a month or two he will be graduating. 

In the end he summed up all by just saying, "Eye on the target" That just struck a chord with me. I realized it is useless feeling "Sorry" for myself. All I am doing is stunting my own potential and growth. It was my choice to be a grad student, no one asked me to do it and so I must be a responsible person and stop sulking.

I feel so much better, I now have a plan.I have written my Nine Commandments for a Newer Me..

  • Work Hard
  • Don’t feel sorry for yourself
  • Work on your basics
  • Never fear a challenge or a question
  • Be Organized
  • Clean up after yourself
  • Exercise everyday
  • Stick to what you have decided no matter what!
  • Don’t Procrastinate.

I have been working on a few of them for the past few days like the ones highlighted in red.

Work on my basics: I am now going back to my older texts to strengthen some of the concepts that I have forgotten along the way. This was I can be confident of my knowledge and its application.

Be Organized, clean up after yourself: For this I have been following the Flying Lady’s Baby steps program. It is a slow and steady way to inculcate some great habits in yourself of which organization and decluttering are major. I must say this is really working! I am so happy with my home, it smells good and shines all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

Don’t Procrastinate: This is the reason why I have not torn my hair and the husband’s apart. I have been doing all my projects and papers on time.

I highlighted Exercising in a different color. I am working on it now consistently for the past few days but I donโ€™t want to jinx it this time. I always say out loud that I am going to stick with this, but that never happens. I donโ€™t want negativity and failure come in the way this time. So when I am consistent with it, Iโ€™ll mention it. I promise!

I am committed to a happier and healthier me and I am going to do everything to stick to it. I have even printed these out to give myself a visual reminder and keep me motivated!

IMG_0025

Sorry for the long write up, I just needed to get this off my chest!!!!!!

Q. Are you a naturally organized and planning person? What are your tips for being sane in stressful situations?

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on February 12, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hey ๐Ÿ™‚ as a master student myself, I’ve been there too (ahem, let’s say I AM there, shall we??) To your list I’d add a “pain is temporary quitting (and winning!) is forever” ร  la Caitlin, which I keep telling myself this days ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good luck with everything!

  2. Hey, I am a med student and I totally know how you feel Pri…hang in there! I think eye on the target / one day at a time / balance are the mantras I’ve tried to live by this year. It’s helped me a lot!

  3. never apologize for being honest about what’s going on in your life! it’s YOUR blog! i’m sorry you’ve been really overwhelmed, but i really like the “eye on the target” philosophy. you’ll get through all of this hard work!!

  4. Priyanka, that’s an awesome list. Good for you for making a plan for yourself!

  5. I am so impressed that you are going after your PhD! Of course that must be so unbelievably stressful. Don’t be so hard on yourself!

    Great advice from your colleague. I need to remember that myself.

  6. Yay for you Priyanka!! What a great plan! I think we all feel overwhelmed at times, but gosh, you have a lot going on!!

    One quote that helps me is, “We make ourselves miserable, or happy and strong, the amount of work is the same.”

    I need that one a lot sometimes! Thanks for sharing your plan. Have a good week!

  7. I just realized that your blog isn’t showing up on my blogroll, grrrr. I don’t know why.

    I like your new goals, and I hope you can stick to them (you can!!). The procrastination one is something that I’ve never had a problem with. I am so type A (thanks to my dad) that sometimes I am SO GOOD at not procrastinating that it ends up being a bad thing. It sounds weird, but its’ true. My mom sometimes thinks I’m not her daughter because she is a HUGE procrastinator! haha

    Have a great week, and stick to those goals!

  8. Keep your head up girl!!! Your classes will be over before you know it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. HAha, I’m definitely not very organized…I’m kind of a day-dreamer. I wish you all the best though! I know how it feels to have all that negative thoughts swarm in at once, but I hope you beat the blues, and enjoy every work that you do!

  1. Pingback: 2 thumbs up and 1 down « The Healthy Diary

Leave a Reply

