Foodie weekend!

What a food filled weekend it was, I think I have not experimented with so much food for a really long time. Once I got through with a Friday evening submission deadline, I crashed on the bed. Saturday morning I was a new person, with all this extra energy I needed an outlet and what better than cooking.

Saturday morning I made yummy baked samosas. I love samosas, but my husband lets just say he loves his samosa, just like a kid loves his candy or cookie. He is very sharing by nature, but the only thing he is never willing to share are his samosas.

Now I wanted to cater to his craving but did not want to deal with the dough making process, so I got out some frozen filo sheets and my samosas were ready in no time..well once the sheets defrosted they were ready in no time ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0031

IMG_0032

Saturday evening was Mexican night!!! Since we wanted to make it a veggie meal, I used the Indian paneer  (Whole milk cheese cubes) to take the center spot.

Paneer was marinated in chipotle peppers, cumin and jerk seasoning for a while and then sauteed in EVOO.

IMG_0044

With a yummy bean salad.

  • Black beans
  • Mango
  • Avocado
  • Tomato
  • Onion
  • Scallions
  • Cilantro
  • Lime juice

IMG_0043 

Toppings:

Paneer

Lettuce

Salsa

Greek yogurt

Mushrooms (I love them on anything)

Jalapeno peppers

Cheese

IMG_0035 

IMG_0045

Ah then Sunday morning began with some chocolate oatmeal with strawberry and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

IMG_0046

IMG_0047 

Lunch: Dosas. Normally I get the instant mixes to save the hassle. This time I made it from scratch. They were so nice. Basically they are crepes just made from rice. So they are excellent for Gluten free folks. The stuffing options are endless. Today the stuffing was just the plain ole โ€˜tato filling.

I ate one with the stuffing and one without with some tomato chutney.

IMG_0079

IMG_0080

And finally dinner with Rotini with a sundried tomato sauce.

The sauce:

  • Sundried tomato sauce
  • Goat milk cheese
  • Pasta water
  • S + P
  • Spinach

IMG_0053

Last nights black bean salad

IMG_0054 

Yikes, tomorrow is the day of my root canal. Not happy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

See you tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on March 21, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You seriously made all of my favorite things…paneer, samosas, dosa. I LOVE dosa but the problem here in LA is that they add wheat flour at many of the restaurants so I don’t want to take a chance. Do you have a recipe for these? I don’t care for the mixes so if you care to share I would love to give these a try!

    Crossing my fingers for your root canal tomorrow! Good luck. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yum!! The bean salad, inside of the burrito, looks fantastic!! I need to start buying avocado again. I keep seeing them in blogs and now I want one. When the summer/spring hits, avocados sound more and more delicious to me!

    Have a great Monday!

  3. Wow – such yummy eats!
    I wish I knew how to make those dishes…
    They look incredible!
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    Have a great week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXOยดs,
    Gabriela

  4. Samosa! Dosa! I love them! I can’t believe you made the crepes from scratch. I always thought dosas are tough to make!

  5. Would you mind sharing the recipe for the samosas and dosa!? They sound so intriguing to me and not to mention delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t believe you made dosas from scratch! Very impressive girl! xoxo

  6. Mmmm, dosas and samosas, oh my! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes, please do post your recipes. I’ve never dared try to make dosas, we just make the haul over to Decatur for all the Indian restaurants and indulge there. My MIL made some last time we visited and they were pretty good!

    Have you tried using the eggroll wrappers for samosas? I bake mine as well and this was a short cut I learned.

    Good luck with your root canal!

Leave a Reply

