Food,food and more food

Hello lovelies!

Last time that I blogged, I posted about my homemade dosa and I had Ameena, Haleigh and Ms. Spice asking about the recipe so here it is!

This recipe is gluten free and made from rice!

Ingredients:

(Makes about 12 cups)

2 cups rice ( I normally use Basmati, but for this one I used the short grain rice)

1 cup Urad dal, it looks like this

Urad Dal

[Source]

Soak these overnight or for about 8-10 hours.

Once soaked they gain some water and ready to grind into a batter. Blitz it to a consistency that is a lot thicker than a pancake batter. It should be smooth and not chunky with the lentil and rice pieces.

Cover it with saran wrap and pace it in a warm place, I placed it in the oven overnight and to my amazement the batter had risen the next day.

Normally the batter takes 12 hours to rise in the summer months and about a day in the colder months.

You know the batter is ready when it has risen and tiny bubbles are forming on the edges.

To cook and form the crepes, use a very hot non stick skillet.

Ladle about 1/4 cup of the mixture and spread it to form a thin crepe with the back of a spoon. Make it as thin as possible,if the first one breaks apart, don’t worry you’ll get the hang of it.

Cooking dosa is like cooking pancakes only thinner.

The dosa can be plain or have a savory potato filling.

 IMG_0079

 IMG_0080

Onto today’s eats,

Breakfast:

was indulgent.

A whole wheat tortila with nutella, banana and strawberry preserves!

IMG_0065

IMG_0067

Lunch: Aloo paratha ( Potato stuffed flat bread)

I ate it with ketchup, reminded me so much  of my childhood!!

IMG_0092

IMG_0093

IMG_0094

And then for dinner I had the most amazing Shrimp salad and it is not just any shrimp, it is  roasted garlic and lemon shrimp with mango lassi!!!!

IMG_0098

IMG_0099

IMG_0100

Sunday evening was pizza night and the recipe was inspired by Tandoori chicken pizza!! Thank you for the recipe Ameena, it was wonderful and my husband loved it. He gave it five stars 🙂

IMG_0085

Amazing eats!

This weekend lifted off the pressure of me, I am  almost done with my major project, just minor tweakings this week and I am so done!!

See Ya soon!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 5, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I don’t think I have the patience to make homemade dosa but it sounds like a recipe worth waiting for.
    Mmm…nutella!

  2. Thank you for the dosa lesson…I have a few questions still because I am a novice in the kitchen!

    1. When you say grind do you use a blender? Please don’t tell me you use a food processor because I don’t have one. 😦

    2. Do you have a recipe for the aloo filling?

    So glad your husband liked the tandoori chicken pizza. It looks delicious!

    Good luck with your project this week!

    • Ameena~ Don’t worry, I used the blender, the food processor will leave it a bit coarse, we want a nice smooth paste. For the potato filling: This recipe makes 12 dosas, so might need about 3 medium potatoes boiled. In a skillet add oil, temper with mustard seeds, curry leaves, 1 onion sliced. Once the onion is soft add 1/2 tsp turmeric and salt. Mix and then add the semi-mashed potatoes and you have a nice aloo stuffing 🙂

  3. Holy YUM!
    Thanks for the recipe, girl!
    Amazing eats 🙂
    Have a wonderful week!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  4. Oh sweet, thanks for posting your dosa recipe!

    Did you make the aloo paratha? I love those, but we buy the frozen ones since I’m too lazy to make them.

Leave a Reply

