Northern bean burger

Heya!

I hope everyone is doing well on this summery Tuesday! Yeah I thought it was Spring time 🙂 But no complaints the bitter winter this time has really made me look forward to the warmth. I can’t wait when my friends and I can have lovely outdoor lunches. Looking forward to it!

Dinner was the only thing I was looking forward to all evening! At class I asked myself what am I really craving? I was perplexed I knew I wanted something that was going to be burger like. Then I went to the gym and while on the stationary cycle I started exploring my options for a nice burger. On my way home I realized that we had two cans of beans in the pantry but I had no idea what they were, just assuming that we had chickpeas I started thinking about the ingredients I want to add. After a lot of brain exercise I came up with the idea and when I searched for the two canned beans I was surprised to find, Great Northern Beans! Unlike chickpeas they are more starchy and less dry.

Ingredients:

1 can Beans of your choice

1/2 cup peas

1/2 onion

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp cumin powder

1/2 tsp chili powder

Salt and pepper.

1/2 Whole wheat bread crumbs (Big mistake I did not add this and ended up having a hard time flipping them)

IMG_0117

Directions:

Mash the beans with a fork or with the back of a spoon. Add the peas and mash them again. (i processed them in a food processor)

Add all the ingredients and mix well.

Shape in the form of patties. I got four good sized ones.

IMG_0118

Once I grilled them I thought some melted cheese on top would be fun, so I cranked the oven and put some cheese on top of the patties, toasted some bread and roasted some asparagus.

My meal put together….Nothing short of Ah-mazing!

IMG_0121

IMG_0122

IMG_0123

IMG_0124 

The other eats of the day,

Breakfast: Berry Green Monster!

IMG_0001

IMG_0112

IMG_0116

Snacks of the day!

IMG_0003

IMG_0004

Yummy day! Hope you had a good one too!

See ya tomorrow!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Holy Moly!
    That bean burguer looked DIVINE…
    Thanks for sharing, girl!
    🙂
    Have a great Wednesday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  2. Looks delicious as always Priyanka.

    Thanks for the dosa/aloo lesson. I am going to try to find that daal and give it a try. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Wish me luck!

  3. I have always been intimidated to make my own veggie burgers.. I don’t know why though, they seem so simple. Hope you have a good day girl! xoxo

  4. love hte pics in this post! great burger idea, i’ll have to try it. mmm gummy candy!

  5. Can’t wait to try that bean burger!

Leave a Reply

