What’s up?

Ha ha..I don’t even want to bore you with the details, lets just say I have been nothing less than overwhelmed with work. No complaints though, this should very well explain the lack of posting.

I hope everyone else has been enjoying the spring. Well in other news, the husband has been battling some serious spring allergies, why you ask?! Well last week a report on CNN health named Knoxville TN the allergy capital of USA. No kidding it is pretty crazy, while I am mildly affected by pollen it really seems to me most of the people around me are just tortured by the Pollen!

*****

On to an interesting recipe. So I made a lovely dish today, Nigella Lawson’s and my Mum’s Slime soup. If there are three cooks I admire, they have  to be

  1. Mum
  2. Nigella Lawson
  3. Giada de Laurentis

in that order.

I recently saw an episode of Nigella Express and she made her Slime soup, so simple and the name is so catchy. This reminded me so much of my mum. As kids my brother and I had almost similar food choices. So it was easy for my Mum but also difficult at times, since both of us declined the same food. Some things we hated were peas, spinach, carrots, beets and pumpkin. Beets and pumpkins I still hate. I could and cannot touch these two veggies with a 10ft pole. I digress, but my Mum got all these in our diet either by sneaking them in some other food, or associating them with a story or naming them such that as kids we would love them. This Slime soup struck a chord with me one cuz it reminded me of childhood, second it is super healthy and third it needs barely  any ingredients.

IMG_0136

  • 6 cups Veggie stock
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 1 stalk scallion
  • salt+pepper
  • 1/2 cup gruyere cheese.

In  a pot bring the stock .peas and the scallion to a boil just so that the peas get soft. Grate the cheese and blend all of the ingredients. Seriously it is that simple. The velvety creamy emulsion is the amazing. I topped with a drizzle of EVOO, lemon zest and red pepper flakes. This just takes this soup to some other level all together. I think a small block of tofu would just add the same level of creaminess.

IMG_0137

I think this is the first Wednesday this semester when I don’t have to prepare for anything.

Drinking some sleepy time tea and ready to hit the hay!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yum, that looks like a comforting bowl! I made my own soup the other night and it was really good the 1st time around! I’m proud of myself: roasted red pepper and tomato soup.

    Have you entered my bday giveaway yet?
    http://itsawrapteacher.blogspot.com/2010/04/birthday-giveaway.html

  2. I love the name of this soup! I really like Nigella too but I am very partial to Giada because I just want to be her! She is gorgeous, isn’t she?

  3. Hahahaha – lovely recipe, girl!
    I´m sorry about the allergies, though :/
    Have a great day!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  4. Hahahah why have I never heard the awesome phrase “slime soup” before?! That looks delicious.

  5. That soup looks delic, hope your hubbys allergies get better 🙂

Leave a Reply

