Chocolate meringue mini-cup cakes

I am not a baker, I cannot bake and baking is just not for me. These are statements I tell myself often. Actually this is something that both my Mum and I don’t do. She is a great cook but steers away from baking. My aunt and her daughter on the contrary are great bakers.

So why all this yapping about baking and family history, well I have been on a cooking kick lately. And thanks to Giada I am actually baking. She makes everything sound so much fun, this was exactly the reason I decided to bake. So when I told my Mum about this, she decided to get on board and join me in this too.She said she will give baking another try.Actually both of us are impulsive cooks, measuring is not our thang.

Additionally I found this exceedingly therapeutic. With my ears plugged into music and all the concentration needed for baking, I totally zoned out.

So presenting to you my first successful baking adventure.

Chocolate meringue mini-cup cakes:

(Recipe: Giada at home)

This recipe gave me 12 mini cup cakes

IMG_0003

IMG_0006

Ingredients:

Egg white batter

  • 3 egg whites beaten till they soft peaks.
  • 1/8 cup + 1T powdered sugar added to the egg whites slowly and beaten

Egg yolk mix:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup + 1 T powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted chocolate chips

Mix well and then fold in the egg white mixture slowly into the egg yolk mix.

Don’t mix it, fold it…baking basics!

Line the muffin pan with paper cups and spoon the mixture about 3/4 cup full.

Let bake for 12 minutes at 350F.

Cool on a wire rack.

IMG_0007

For the topping,

Melt 1/4 cup chocolate chips with 1T vegetable oil. drizzle this mix over the cupcake with the help of a fork.

Amazing!

IMG_0002

Inspite of adding the whole wheat flour, these were super light and airy.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Two words: Holy YUM!
    Thanks for the recipe, girl!
    Have a great week 😉
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  2. I think your cupcakes look lovely and I now want some chocolate in my life.

  3. I love cupcakes! I especially love chocolate ones. I think Maya and Ali would be all over these in a second flat. They look delicious.

  4. Hey, I’ve just stumbled upon your blog and I’m going through your recipes … You mention ww flour, but I don’t see any flour in the recipe?

Leave a Reply

