Coconut Lime chicken

I think there are just two reasons  that prevent people from cooking Indian food and mind you these reason apply to most of the Indians too. Many girls from my generation take pride in saying that, “Oh, I have never stepped into the kitchen in my life and I have no idea how to cook” This statement just makes me smile within myself.While there are people who genuinely don’t cook,some find it “cool” not to cook…What???? Really??? Any way I digress,so coming back to the reasons people are intimidated by Indian food

  1. It is too spicy
  2. It looks complicated.

Categorically speaking this may be true to some recipes, this is not entirely true and the curry that I am going to show you today is just amazing. It is not only easy and tasty but it also has ingredients that are going to be in your pantry barring

  • Cardamom pods
  • Cloves
  • Curry leaves

So here is Kerala style chicken curry. Now for all you vegan or vegetarian folks out there this curry can be easily modified, find my comments below. Onto the curry this recipe hails from the south of India. The south coastal cooking is predominated by Coconut. It is a staple and the coconut is used in all possible forms oils, soft meat within the hard shell, milk etc. Adding coconut to your meals just adds a depth of creaminess with texture from some of the meat and sweetness. It adds a cool mild flavor that can tone down the heat from the spices. This specific curry is actually not a curry, it is simmered down from a lot of liquid to almost dry lush coconutty goodness.

Without any further delay here is the amazing recipe,

Kerala style Chicken: Coconut and Lemon chicken.

IMG_0036

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb skinless bone in chicken
  • Dry whole spices: 2 cloves, 4 cardamom pods and 1 shard of cinnamon
  • 1 large onion sliced
  • 1 inch piece of ginger thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves roughly chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp garam masala powder
  • Water 3 cups
  • 2/3 cup dried unsweetened coconut
  • Juice from 1 whole lemon
  • Cilantro for garnishing

Directions:

  • In a skillet on medium heat, add 1 tbsp canola oil, then add the dry spices. The dry spices heat with the oil and perfuse their flavor into the oil.
  • Next add the onions, garlic and ginger. Once the onions begin to caramelize add the chicken.
  • Give the chicken a mix in the pan followed by salt, pepper and garam masala powder. Mix and cover with 3 cups of water.
  • Simmer for about 15 minutes until the liquid reduces and the chicken is tender and cooked.
  • Finally add the coconut and lemon juice.
  • Garnish with cilantro.

To make this Vegan or Vegetarian: You can use potatoes and eggplant in place of chicken. Since it will not take long to cook, the cooking time should be no longer than 10 minutes or until the potatoes are cooked.

*********

In other news, I am done with this semester…Hooray!

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 6, 2010, in Indian, Poultry., Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. welcome back and thx for saying hi!

  2. I love making curry dishes:)

  3. I’ve never made curry! In fact, truth be told, I’ve only had Indian food one time! This sounds super easy and the outcome looks delicious. Hope you are doing well- long time no talk!

  4. I love indian food! so much, it’s so amazing. What prevents me to try to cook indian food is that I am so intimidated to buy the ingredients that I have never heard of, and go out of my way to find the ingredients/spices.

    So instead I just buy the pre-made sauces, but I would love to attempt cooking indian on my own.

  5. Hey Priyanka!! Good to hear from you!

    Yay for your semester being over!

    The curry dish looks delicious.

    How much longer do you have until you’re finished with school forever?

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  6. Yay that you are done for the semester! You must be SO relieved.

    I am very intimidated by Indian food…you basically described me above. 🙂 Maybe you can teach me a few things…if only you lived closer!

  7. Hear, hear! I used to be one of those girls, who got so proud in saying “Hell no I don’t cook!” and being all feministy…but cooking is not about restriction or being female at all…it’s FUN! And it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

