Homemade

Today I did two things to save money but before that a confession, I love hummus, love love love it and the best part is I am the only one who eats it, the husband isn’t very fond of it. Now while I really love it, it can get a little “costly” and if you shop the way I do, you will try and save on the silliest thing. I’ll save $1 when I know that if I shell it out I’ll get 30 Cascade dishwashing gels instead of 24 but simple logic is simply something I cannot fathom. Because of my love for grocery shopping and trying new stuff ( I am trying to give my inability to make a proper grocery list, a positive spin 🙂

So because of the whirlwind of shopping conundrums, buying hummus, tahini can get a little expensive 😉 This evening I wanted to make some hummus for which I needed some tahini which I did not have but I had sesame seeds which was needed to make tahini which was in turn needed to make some hummus.

(If this scientific explanation doesn’t prove that I am a scientist, I don’t know what does….;)

Hence step 1: make tahini.

Step 2: Make Lime and Jalapeno hummus….oh.my.goodness. this is amazing.

Ingredients:

IMG_0085

  • 1 can of garbanzo beans
  • 3 tbsp tahini
  • 1/4 cup jalapeno slices with juice
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Juice of 1 whole lime
  • Salt and pepper

IMG_0086

Creamy, tart, spicy and yummy.

IMG_0091

Man oh man..I think I should stop blabbering before I sound like a hummus addict!

So anyways, I slathered it on my bread slice in between Tandoori chef vegan masala burgers for lunch tomorrow!

Q. Do you like hummus, is there any flavor you are fond of?

***

Apart from that I am going to sprout some mung beans. It is a two to three day process which begins with Step 1: Soaking

I have washed and soaked about 1.5 cups of Mung beans in some water.

IMG_0002 IMG_0003

See you tomorrow for the next step.

About Priyanka

My blog is my attempt to change myself for good and incorporate some great habits by deriving inspiration from my fellow bloggers. This blog is a log of my eating habits,my everyday life, my activity profile,the motivation I want from others and also other ramblings.

Posted on May 12, 2010, in beans, Sauces and Dips, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice sub! I love hummus. My favorite variety right now is cilantro jalapeno! I make hummus at home often. If I don’t have tahini, and I’m using canned beans, I will leave the tahini out and use some of the juice from the can of beans. It seems to work ok!

  2. I’m still too chicken to make my own hummus but yours looks delicious. And thank you for the early congratulations on my graduation. One more day!

  3. I made hummus once and it was a total disaster. Tahini is expensive so I decided to wing it…obviously that was a bad idea! Your hummus like great!

    I love Trader Joe’s Sundried Tomato hummus. I can eat a whole container myself.

  4. I love hummus and I make my own sometimes too! Recently I’ve been buying one that’s made in the grocery store deli: jalepeno cilantro hummus! It’s really good. Next time maybe you can try making that one since I know you already like the jalepeno!

Leave a Reply

